Scientific and Organizational Awards

Find scientific and technical awards and honors that NREL staff members have received within the past 10 years.

A person wearing protective eyewear and a labcoat holding a vial.
Awarding Organization Award(s)
Algae Biomass Summit 2016 Young Researcher Poster Award | Lukas Dahlin
American Association for the Advancement of Science

2024 Fellow Nancy Haegel

2023 Fellow Matthew Beard

2023 Fellow Garry Rumbles

2017 Fellow William Tumas

2016 Fellow Maria Ghirardi

2015 Fellow Brian Gregg

2014 Fellow David S. Ginley

American Chemical Society Fuels and Energy Division

2014 OpenEye Outstanding Junior Faculty Award | Gregg Beckham

American Chemical Society Inorganic Chemistry Division

2019 Chemistry of Materials Lectureship and Best Paper Award | Annalise Maughan

American Chemical Society Physical Chemistry Division

2019 Young Investigator Award | Haiping Lu

American Chemical Society Sustainable Chemistry and Engineering

2016 Lectureship Award | Gregg Beckham

American Chemical Society Wiley Computers in Chemistry

Fall 2018 Outstanding Postdoc Award | Josh Vermaas

American Institute of Chemical Engineers

2021 Industrial Progress Award | Mou Paul

American Institute of Chemical Engineers Computational Science and Engineering Forum

2014 Young Investigator Award | Gregg Beckham

American Physical Society

2022 Milton Van Dyke Award for Simulation of an RCCI Engine using the Pele Suite of Exascale Codes | Nicholas Wimer; Lucas Esclapez; Nicholas Brunhart-Lupo; Marc Henry de Frahan; Mohammad Rahimi; Malik Hassanaly; Jon Rood; Shashank Yellapantula; Hariswaran Sitaraman; Bruce Perry; Michael Martin; Olga Doronina; Sreejith Nadakkal Appukuttan; Martin Rieth (Sandia National Laboratory); and Marc Day

2018 Fellow Dan Friedman

2017 Fellow Nancy Haegel

American Society of Civil Engineers

2018 Best Poster for Quantifying the Mobility and Energy Benefits of Automated Mobility Districts Using Microscope Traffic Simulation | Lei Zhu, Venu Garikapati, Yi Hou, and Stan Young

The American Society of Mechanical Engineers


2023 Fellow Michael Martin

2020 Fellow Sreekant Narumanchi


2023 Electronic and Photonic Packaging Division Excellence in Mechanics Award | Doug DeVoto

2023 Avram Bar-Cohen Memorial Medal | Sreekant Narumanchi

2018 K-16/Electronic and Photonic Packaging Division Clock Award | Sreekant Narumanchi

2015 Thomas A. Edison Patent Award | Andy Walker

American Solar Energy Society

2022 Hoyt Clarke Hottel Award | Steve Johnston

2021 John and Barbara Yellott Graduate Student Award | Will Callahan

ASTM International

2016 Award of Excellence for Petroleum Products, Liquid Fuels, and Lubricants | Bob McCormick

Clean Energy Ministerial

2016 U.S. Clean Energy Education and Empowerment Award | Sarah Kurtz and Suzanne Tegen

Colorado Women's Day

2022 Women in STEM Awards | Svitlana Pylypenko


2016 New Faces of Engineering | Rachel Romero

Electrochemical Society


2023 Fellow Jeff Blackburn

2023 Fellow Bryan Pivovar

2015 Fellow John Turner


2022 Energy Technology Division Supramaniam Srinivasan Young Investigator Award | James Young

2021 Energy Technology Division Research Award | Bryan Pivovar


Energy Facilities Contractors Group

2015 Teamwork Award | Matt Dabney

Geothermal Energy Association

2015 Top Recognition | Dan Getman and Jordan Macknick

Federal Laboratory Consortium

2022 National Impact Award | Scott Horowitz, Noel Merket, Ben Park, and Yueyue Zhou

Fulbright Scholar Program

2019 Fulbright Scholar Award in All Disciplines | Myles Steiner

Hispanic Engineer National Achievement Awards Corp.

2023 Great Minds in STEM Most Promising Scientist Anthony Lopez

2015 Great Minds in STEM Luminary Honoree Judith Gomez

Industrial and Engineering Chemistry

2021 Division Fellow Award | Mou Paul

Institution of Chemical Engineers

2018 Global Young Researcher Award | Donal Finegan

The Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers


2014 Fellow Ben Kroposki


2023 Polymer Science and Engineering Cooperative Research Award | Mou Paul and Abhishek Roy

2018 Best Papers | Zerui Dong, Vahan Gevorgian, and Jin Tan; Bri-Mathias Hodge, Bing Huang, and Venkat Krishnan; Xin Fang, Bri-Mathias Hodge, and Venkat Krishnan

2017 Best Paper | Muneeb Rehman, Fan Zhang, Michael Evzelman, Regan Zane, Kandler Smith, and Dragan Maksimovic

2015 Best Paper | Erik Ela, Anthony Florita, Bri-Mathias Hodge, Eduardo Ibanez, Ibrahim Krad, Bryan Palmintier, Hongyu Wu, and Jie Zhang


International Society for Professional Innovation Management

2015 Grand Prize | SunShot Catalyst Team


2017 NASA Government Invention of the Year First Runner-Up | Battery Internal Short Circuit Device

National Academy of Engineering

2023 Elected Member | Peter Green

2020 Elected Member | Sarah Kurtz

2014 Elected Member | Dan Arvizu

National Biodiesel Board

2018 Innovation Award | Earl Christensen

2017 Researcher of the Year | Earl Christensen

National Organization for the Professional Development of Black Chemists and Chemical Engineers

2019 Growth Opportunities Leading in Diversity Graduate Seminar Competition | Abdoulaye Djire

Oceantic Network (formerly Business Network for Offshore Wind)

2022 Viterna Award for Engineering Excellence | Jason Jonkman

Project Management Institute

2014 PMI Project of the Year Award

Royal Society of Chemistry

2019 Chemical Dynamics Award | Matt Beard

2018 Fellow Gregg Beckham

SAE International


2018 Fellow Ahmad Pesaran

2017 Fellow Robert McCormick


2018 Excellence in Oral Presentation Award for Analysis of Fast Charging Station Network for Electrified Ride-Hailing Services | Clement Rames

2018 Arch T. Colwell Merit Award | Bob McCormick, Petr Sindler, Adam Ragatz, Aaron Williams

2017 Lloyd L. Withrow Distinguished Speaker Award | Jason Lustbader


Society for Industrial Microbiology and Biotechnology

2016 Young Investigator Award | Gregg Beckham

The White House

2019 Presidential Early Career Award for Scientists and Engineers | Mike Wagner and Timothy Silverman

University of Colorado

2015 Wirth Chair in Sustainable Development Award | Dan Arvizu

University of South Carolina

2013—2014 Outstanding Co-op Employer | Huyen Dinh

U.S. Clean Energy Education and Empowerment Initiative

2021 Finalist for Mid-Career Women's Leadership and Achievement in Clean Energy | Laura Schelhas

2019 Finalist for Mid-Career Women's Leadership and Achievement in Clean Energy | Teresa Barnes

U.S. Department of Energy

2023 Secretary of Energy Achievement Awards | Zia Abdullah, Craig Brown, Peter Green, Johanna Levene, Steve Lommele, Matteo Muratori, Lissa Myers, Emily Newes, Justin Rickard, Alex Schroeder, Monisha Shah, and Ling Tao

2021 Secretary of Energy Award | Bryan Pivovar

2018 Energy Efficiency and Renewable Energy Postdoctoral Research Award | Jeff Christians

U.S. Department of Energy Hydrogen Program

2022 Technology Acceleration | Daniel Leighton

2022 Hydrogen and Fuel Cell Technologies Office Postdoctoral Recognition Award | Carlos Baez-Cotto

U.S. Department of Energy Office of Science

2022 Ernest Orlando Lawrence Award | Matt Beard

U.S. Department of Energy Vehicle Technologies Office

2023 Distinguished Achievement Award | Doug DeVoto

2023 Lifetime Distinguished Achievement | Wendy Dafoe

2023 Team Award | Jeff Gonder

Utility Variable-Generation Integration Group

2016 Achievement Award | Vahan Gevorgian and Barbara O'Neill

2015 Achievement Award | Kara Clark

World Conference on Photovoltaic Energy Conversion

2018 Young Investigators Award | Adele Tamboli