Leading the Charge: 105 Solar Decathlon Teams Tackle Zero-Energy Building Designs

Collegiate Teams From 29 States and 18 Countries Will Compete in Solar Decathlon 2024 Design Challenge

Nov. 8, 2023 | By Kelly MacGregor | Contact media relations

A map of the world showing the location of 105 Design Challenge teams, which span across 18 countries.
This year's Solar Decathlon Design Challenge teams represent 18 countries and 29 U.S. states.

By designing high-performance, zero-energy buildings, 105 teams from 93 collegiate institutions are leading the charge to tackle climate change as part of the U.S. Department of Energy (DOE) Solar Decathlon® 2024 Design Challenge.

"Creating affordable, energy-efficient solutions for buildings nationwide is key to the United States meeting its decarbonization goals," said Holly Jamesen Carr, Solar Decathlon director. "Hundreds of students from around the world are set to meet this challenge head-on this year as they participate in DOE's longest-running collegiate competition."

The Design Challenge encourages collegiate student teams to create highly efficient, low-carbon building designs that address issues related to climate resilience, embodied carbon, existing building retrofits, community impact, and more.

  • As part of the Solar Decathlon 2024 Design Challenge, students will create designs for new or existing buildings in one of four categories: Single-Family Housing, Attached Housing, Multifamily Building, or Education Building.
  • Explore the participating teams map to see if your alma mater or a nearby collegiate institution will be competing!
  • This year's teams represent 18 countries and 29 U.S. states, with 26 new collegiate institutions and 67 returning institutions.

Welcome to This Year's Competitors!

  • Al Hussein Technical University—Amman, Jordan
  • Alex Ekwueme Federal University, Ndufu-Alike—Ikwo, Nigeria
  • Appalachian State University—Boone, North Carolina
  • Ariel University—Ariel, Israel
  • Arizona State University—Tempe, Arizona
  • Arkansas State University—Jonesboro, Arkansas
  • Ball State University—Muncie, Indiana
  • Brigham Young University—Provo, Utah
  • Carnegie Mellon University—Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
  • Clark Atlanta University—Atlanta, Georgia
  • College of the Canyons—Santa Clarita, California
  • Concordia University—Montreal, Quebec
  • Dartmouth College—Hanover, New Hampshire
  • Fitchburg State University—Fitchburg, Massachusetts
  • Georgia Institute of Technology—Atlanta, Georgia
  • Howard University—Washington, D.C.
  • Illinois Institute of Technology—Chicago, Illinois
  • Indian Institute of Technology Bombay—Mumbai, India
  • Indian Institute of Technology Kharagpur—Kharagpur, India
  • Indiana University–Purdue University Indianapolis—Indianapolis, Indiana
  • Iran University of Science and Technology—Tehran, Iran
  • İstanbul Teknik Üniversitesi—Istanbul, Turkey
  • Kent State University—Kent, Ohio
  • Mississippi State University—Mississippi State, Mississippi
  • Missouri University of Science and Technology—Rolla, Missouri
  • Monash University—Clayton, Australia
  • Myongji University—Seoul, South Korea
  • National University of Sciences and Technology—Islamabad, Pakistan
  • Navajo Technical University—Crownpoint, New Mexico
  • New York City College of Technology—Brooklyn, New York
  • North Carolina Agricultural and Technical State University—Greensboro, North Carolina
  • Northeastern University—Boston, Massachusetts
  • Northwestern University—Evanston, Illinois
  • Oklahoma State University—Stillwater, Oklahoma
  • Pennsylvania College of Technology—Williamsport, Pennsylvania
  • Purdue University—West Lafayette, Indiana
  • Queen's University—Kingston, Ontario
  • San Francisco State University—San Francisco, California
  • Southeast University— Nanjing, China
  • State University of New York College of Environmental Science and Forestry—Syracuse, New York
  • Syracuse University—Syracuse, New York
  • Tehran University of Art—Tehran, Iran
  • The Cooper Union for the Advancement of Science and Art—New York City, New York
  • The Pennsylvania State University—University Park, Pennsylvania
  • The University of Alabama—Tuscaloosa, Alabama
  • The University of Arizona—Tucson, Arizona
  • The University of British Columbia—Vancouver, British Columbia
  • The University of British Columbia Okanagan—Kelowna, British Columbia
  • The University of Chicago—Chicago, Illinois
  • The University of Melbourne—Melbourne, Australia
  • The University of Oklahoma—Norman, Oklahoma
  • The University of Texas at Austin—Austin, Texas
  • Thompson Rivers University—Kamloops, British Columbia
  • Truckee Meadows Community College—Reno, Nevada
  • Tuskegee University—Tuskegee, Alabama
  • Universidad Anáhuac—Mexico City , Mexico
  • Universidad Nacional de Ingeniería —Lima, Peru
  • Universiti Sains Islam Malaysia—Nilai, Malaysia
  • Universiti Teknologi PETRONAS—Seri Iskandar, Malaysia
  • Universiti Malaysia Sabah—Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
  • University of California Los Angeles—Los Angeles, California
  • University of California, Santa Barbara—Santa Barbara, California
  • University of California, Riverside—Riverside, California
  • University of Canterbury—Christchurch, New Zealand
  • University of Central Florida—Orlando, Florida
  • University of Cincinnati—Cincinnati, Ohio
  • University of Colorado Boulder—Boulder, Colorado
  • Università di Ferrara—Ferrara, Italy
  • University of Florida—Gainesville, Florida
  • University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign—Urbana, Illinois
  • University of Missouri—Columbia, Missouri
  • University of New Hampshire—Durham, New Hampshire
  • University of North Texas—Denton, Texas
  • University of Oregon—Eugene, Oregon
  • University of San Francisco—San Francisco, California
  • University of Tehran—Tehran , Iran
  • University of Tennessee at Chattanooga—Chattanooga, Tennessee
  • University of the District of Columbia—Washington, D.C.
  • University of the Witwatersrand, Johannesburg—Johannesburg, South Africa
  • University of Victoria—Victoria, British Columbia
  • University of Washington—Seattle, Washington
  • University of Washington Tacoma—Tacoma, Washington
  • University of Waterloo—Waterloo, Ontario
  • Vermont State University—Williston, Vermont
  • Virginia Commonwealth University—Richmond, Virginia
  • Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University—Blacksburg, Virginia
  • Washington University in St Louis—St Louis, Missouri
  • Wentworth Institute of Technology—Boston, Massachusetts
  • West Virginia University—Morgantown, West Virginia
  • Western New England University—Springfield, Massachusetts
  • Worcester Polytechnic Institute—Worcester, Massachusetts
  • Yeditepe Üniversitesi—Istanbul, Turkey
  • York University—Toronto, Ontario

2024 Design Challenge teams will present their zero-energy building designs at a virtual semifinal event in February 2024. Finalist teams will compete at an industry-expert-juried final competition event in April 2024, hosted at the National Renewable Energy Laboratory in Golden, Colorado, with virtual participation options available.

Additional details are available on the Solar Decathlon website.

Tags: Buildings