Skip to main content

Research Staff

Learn more about the expertise and technical skills of the water power research team and staff at NREL.

Photo of Daniel Laird

Daniel  Laird

Center Director I-Technical

Dr. Daniel Laird is director of the National Wind Technology Center (NWTC). Laird also serves as an executive committee member of the U.S. Department of Energy's (DOE's) Atmosphere to Electrons Wind Plant Optimization Initiative and provides leadership in the focus areas of high-fidelity modeling, wind power plant controls, and rotor dynamics. Prior to joining NREL in 2015, he spent 19 years at Sandia National Laboratories leading wind energy and water power research efforts in structural analysis and simulation, computational design tools, advanced manufacturing, composite materials, and blade reliability.

daniel.laird@nrel.gov | 303-384-7100

Photo of Brian Smith

Brian  Smith

Acting Laboratory Program Manager II-Multi Discipline

Brian Smith is the partnership manager for the NWTC and focuses on portfolio diversification, capability enhancement, and strategy. Smith joined NREL in 1988, first as a test engineer for advanced airfoil blades and then as the project leader for advanced wind technology development and field verification partnerships with industry. He managed the DOE Turbine Research and DOE-Electric Power Research Institute Turbine Verification Program activities at NREL in the 1990s that helped reinvigorate the development and deployment of wind technology and power plants in the United States. Smith served as the manager of NREL's Laboratory Wind and Water Power Program from 2002 to 2014 and acting NWTC director from 2014 to 2015. He is the U.S. alternate member and vice chair of the executive committee for the International Energy Agency's Technology Collaboration Program for Wind Energy Systems Research, Development, and Demonstration.

brian.smith@nrel.gov | 303-384-6911

Jochem  Weber

Engineer VI-Multi Discipline

Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipiscing elit, sed do eiusmod tempor incididunt ut labore et dolore magna aliqua.

jochem.weber@nrel.gov | 303-384-7095

Photo of Al Livecchi

Albert  LiVecchi

Laboratory Program Manager- Water Power

Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipiscing elit, sed do eiusmod tempor incididunt ut labore et dolore magna aliqua.

al.livecchi@nrel.gov | 303-384-7138

Name Position Email Phone
Anstedt, Sheri Professional III-Writer/Editor/Web Content sheri.anstedt@nrel.gov 303-275-3255
Baker, Donald Research Technician V-Multi Discipline don.baker@nrel.gov 303-384-7162
Baring-Gould, Edward Project Leader/Program Manager V-Technical ian.baring-gould@nrel.gov 303-384-7021
Beach, Ryan Contingent Worker ryan.beach@nrel.gov 303-384-6949
Byrne, Tiffany Business Support II-Administrative Associate tiffany.byrne@nrel.gov 303-275-4907
Cardinal, Arielle Project Leader II-Technical arielle.cardinal@nrel.gov 303-384-6925
Christol, Corrie Project Leader I-General corrie.christol@nrel.gov 303-384-7110
Cotrell, Jason Project Leader/Program Manager V-Technical Manager jason.cotrell@nrel.gov 303-384-7056
Dana, Scott Engineer III-Multi Discipline scott.dana@nrel.gov 303-384-7036
DeGeorge, Elise Project Leader IV-Technical elise.degeorge@nrel.gov 303-384-7136
Domenico, Kim Business Support II-Administrative Associate kim.domenico@nrel.gov 303-384-6951
Driscoll, Rick Engineer V-Multi Discipline frederick.driscoll@nrel.gov 303-384-7153
Fingersh, Lee Jay Engineer V-Multi Discipline Lee.Fingersh@nrel.gov 303-384-6929
Gevorgian, Vahan Engineer VI-Multi Discipline vahan.gevorgian@nrel.gov 303-384-6940
Green, Jim Project Leader/Program Manager V-Technical jim.green@nrel.gov 303-384-6913
Hand, Maureen Engineer V-Multi Discipline maureen.hand@nrel.gov 303-384-6933
Huskey, Arlinda Engineer V-Manager arlinda.huskey@nrel.gov 303-384-6987
Jager, David Engineer III-Multi Discipline david.jager@nrel.gov 303-384-6954
Jenks, Michael Research Technician V-Multi Discipline mike.jenks@nrel.gov 303-384-6994
Jenne, Dale Engineer III-Multi Discipline dale.jenne@nrel.gov 303-384-7248
Jimenez, Tony Engineer IV-Multi Discipline tony.jimenez@nrel.gov 303-384-7027
Johansson, Timothy Facilities Tech IV-Specialty Trade Tim.Johansson@nrel.gov 303-384-6970
Kilcher, Levi Engineer IV-Multi Discipline levi.kilcher@nrel.gov 303-384-7192
Laird, Daniel Center Director I-Technical daniel.laird@nrel.gov 303-384-7100
Lantz, Eric Project Leader IV-Manager eric.lantz@nrel.gov 303-384-7418
Laurie, Carol Project Leader III-General carol.laurie@nrel.gov 303-275-3655 or 303-384-6964 303-275-3655 or 303-384-6964
Lawson, Michael Engineer IV-Multi Discipline michael.lawson@nrel.gov 303-384-7196
Lemke, Alex Project Leader IV-General alexsandra.lemke@nrel.gov 303-384-7018
LiVecchi, Albert Laboratory Program Manager I-Multi Discipline al.livecchi@nrel.gov 303-384-7138
McDade, Mark Project Leader/Program Manager V-Technical mark.mcdade@nrel.gov 303-384-6961
Muljadi, Eduard Engineer V-Multi Discipline eduard.muljadi@nrel.gov 303-384-6904
Neiman, Shelley Business Support III-Administrative Associate shelley.neiman@nrel.gov 303-384-6921
Nelson, Eric Engineer IV-Multi Discipline eric.nelson@nrel.gov 303-384-7155
Nixon, Steve Professional IV-Building Project Leader steve.nixon@nrel.gov 303-384-7374
Quon, Eliot Postdoctoral Researcher II-Computational Sciences eliot.quon@nrel.gov 303-384-7172
Ringwall, Jim Professional IV-EHS jim.ringwall@nrel.gov 303-384-7256
Robichaud, Robert Engineer IV-Multi Discipline robi.robichaud@nrel.gov 303-384-6969
Scott, George Scientist IV-Multi Discipline george.scott@nrel.gov 303-384-6903
Simms, David Center Director-Lab Facilities david.simms@nrel.gov 303-384-6942
Sirnivas, Senu Engineer VI-Multi Discipline senu.sirnivas@nrel.gov 303-384-7250
Smith, Brian Laboratory Program Manager II-Multi Discipline brian.smith@nrel.gov 303-384-6911
Snowberg, David Engineer V-Multi Discipline david.snowberg@nrel.gov 303-384-6920
St. Martin, Briesa Project Leader I-General briesa.st.martin@nrel.gov 303-384-6972
Stehly, Tyler Engineer II-Multi Discipline tyler.stehly@nrel.gov 303-384-7190
Szydlek, Cynthia Specialist V-Business/Project Support cynthia.szydlek@nrel.gov 303-384-7053
Tegen, Suzanne Manager II-Technical suzanne.tegen@nrel.gov 303-384-6939
Thresher, Robert Research Fellow-Multi Discipline robert.thresher@nrel.gov 303-384-6922
Tom, Nathan Postdoctoral Researcher II-Mechanical Engineering nathan.tom@nrel.gov 303-384-7159
Weber, Jochem Engineer VI-Multi Discipline jochem.weber@nrel.gov 303-384-7095
Wendt, Fabian Engineer II-Multi Discipline fabian.wendt@nrel.gov 303-384-6941
Wilde, Scott Manager I-Technical scott.wilde@nrel.gov 303-384-7074
Yaker, Kelly Professional II-Web Design kelly.yaker@nrel.gov 303-275-4692 or 303-384-6989 303-275-4692 or 303-384-6989
Young, Don Professional IV-EHS don.young@nrel.gov 303-384-7144
Yu, Yi-Hsiang Engineer IV-Multi Discipline yi-hsiang.yu@nrel.gov 303-384-7143
van Rij, Jennifer Engineer III-Multi Discipline jennifer.vanrij@nrel.gov 303-384-7180