Skip to main content

Research Staff

NREL’s transportation research team—composed of 150 scientists, engineers, and analysts—provides the scientific building blocks needed to spur innovation through fundamental research and engineering. Learn how to work with us.

Photo of John Farrell

John Farrell

Laboratory Program Manager III - Vehicle Technologies

John Farrell joined NREL in 2013 as laboratory program manager for vehicle technologies, overseeing NREL’s cross-cutting research in the sustainable transportation arena. | 303-275-4434

Photo of Chris Gearhart.

Chris Gearhart

Center Director II-Technical

Chris Gearhart joined NREL in 2012 as director of the Hydrogen Technologies and Systems Center. In 2013 he was appointed to his current position as director of the Center for Integrated Mobility Sciences (formerly known as the Transportation and Hydrogen Systems Center), where he manages a staff of 150 scientists and engineers developing advanced transportation technologies. | 303-275-3830

Name Position Email Phone        
Bennion, Kevin Researcher V-Mechanical Engineering 303-275-4447
Farrell, John Laboratory Program Manager III - Vehicle Technologies 303-275-4434
Farrington, Rob Strategic Planning and Business Development 303-275-4448
Gearhart, Chris Center Director II-Technical 303-275-3830
Gonder, Jeffrey Group Manager: Mobility, Behavior and Advanced Powertrains 303-275-4462
Keyser, Matthew Group Manager III-Mechanical Engineering 303-275-3876
Kurtz, Jennifer Chief Researcher I-Systems Engineering 303-275-4061
Mann, Margaret Transportation Infrastructure Team Lead 303-275-2921
McCormick, Robert Senior Research Fellow I-Chemical Engineering 303-275-4432
Narumanchi, Sreekant Researcher VI-Mechanical Engineering 303-275-4062
Pesaran, Ahmad Chief Energy Storage Engineer 303-275-4441
Melendez, Margo Manager - Transportation Technology Integration 303-275-4479
Romero Lankao, Patricia Researcher V-Environmental Engineering 303-275-4175
Thornton, Matthew Group Research Manager III-Mechanical Engineering 303-275-4273
Wipke, Keith Fuel Cell & Hydrogen Technologies LPM 303-275-4451
Young, Stanley Advanced Transportation & Urban Scientist 303-275-3283