Skip to main content

Research Staff

NREL’s transportation research team—composed of 150 scientists, engineers, and analysts—provides the scientific building blocks needed to spur innovation through fundamental research and engineering. Learn how to work with us.

Photo of John Farrell

John Farrell

Laboratory Program Manager III - Vehicle Technologies

John Farrell joined NREL in 2013 as laboratory program manager for vehicle technologies, overseeing NREL’s cross-cutting research in the sustainable transportation arena.

John.Farrell@nrel.gov | 303-275-4434

Photo of Chris Gearhart.

Chris Gearhart

Center Director II-Technical

Chris Gearhart joined NREL in 2012 as director of the Hydrogen Technologies and Systems Center. In 2013 he was appointed to his current position as director of the Center for Integrated Mobility Sciences (formerly known as the Transportation and Hydrogen Systems Center), where he manages a staff of 150 scientists and engineers developing advanced transportation technologies.

Chris.Gearhart@nrel.gov | 303-275-3830

Name Position Email Phone        
Bennion, Kevin Researcher V-Mechanical Engineering Kevin.Bennion@nrel.gov 303-275-4447
Farrell, John Laboratory Program Manager III - Vehicle Technologies John.Farrell@nrel.gov 303-275-4434
Farrington, Rob Strategic Planning and Business Development Rob.Farrington@nrel.gov 303-275-4448
Finegan, Donal Researcher III-Chemical Engineering Donal.Finegan@nrel.gov 303-275-4866
Gearhart, Chris Center Director II-Technical Chris.Gearhart@nrel.gov 303-275-3830
Gonder, Jeffrey Group Manager: Mobility, Behavior and Advanced Powertrains Jeff.Gonder@nrel.gov 303-275-4462
Hunter, Chad Researcher III-Decision Support Analysis Chad.Hunter@nrel.gov 303-275-2925
Kelly, Kenneth Researcher V-Systems Engineering Kenneth.Kelly@nrel.gov 303-275-4465
Keyser, Matthew Group Manager III-Mechanical Engineering Matthew.Keyser@nrel.gov 303-275-3876
Kreutzer, Cory Acting Group Manager Cory.Kreutzer@nrel.gov 303-275-3772
Kurtz, Jennifer Chief Researcher I-Systems Engineering Jennifer.Kurtz@nrel.gov 303-275-4061
Leighton, Daniel Researcher III-Systems Engineering Daniel.Leighton@nrel.gov 303-275-4180
Levene, Johanna Group Manager II-Software Engineering Johanna.Levene@nrel.gov 303-275-2922
Mann, Margaret Transportation Infrastructure Team Lead Margaret.Mann@nrel.gov 303-275-2921
McCormick, Robert Senior Research Fellow I-Chemical Engineering Robert.McCormick@nrel.gov 303-275-4432
Meintz, Andrew Researcher IV-Electrical Engineering Andrew.Meintz@nrel.gov 303-275-3179
Muratori, Matteo Researcher IV-Decision Support Analysis Matteo.Muratori@nrel.gov 303-275-2927
Narumanchi, Sreekant Researcher VI-Mechanical Engineering Sreekant.Narumanchi@nrel.gov 303-275-4062
Pesaran, Ahmad Chief Energy Storage Engineer Ahmad.Pesaran@nrel.gov 303-275-4441
Melendez, Margo Manager - Transportation Technology Integration Margo.Melendez@nrel.gov 303-275-4479
Romero Lankao, Patricia Researcher V-Environmental Engineering Patricia.RomeroLankao@nrel.gov 303-275-4175
Santhanagopalan, Shriram Researcher VI-Materials Science Shriram.Santhanagopalan@nrel.gov 303-275-3944
Smith, Kandler Researcher VI-Mechanical Engineering Kandler.Smith@nrel.gov 303-275-4423
Thornton, Matthew Group Research Manager III-Mechanical Engineering Matthew.Thornton@nrel.gov 303-275-4273
Walkowicz, Kevin Group Research Manager III-Systems Engineering Kevin.Walkowicz@nrel.gov 303-275-4492
Wipke, Keith Fuel Cell & Hydrogen Technologies LPM Keith.Wipke@nrel.gov 303-275-4451
Wood, Eric Researcher IV-Data Science Eric.Wood@nrel.gov 303-275-3290
Young, Stanley Advanced Transportation & Urban Scientist Stanley.Young@nrel.gov 303-275-3283
Zigler, Brad Researcher VI-Mechanical Engineering Brad.Zigler@nrel.gov 303-275-4267