Research Staff

NREL's transportation research team, with more than 150 staff members, accelerates the development of sustainable mobility technologies and strategies for passenger and freight transportation.


Photo of John Farrell

John Farrell

Laboratory Program Manager, Vehicle Technologies

John Farrell joined NREL in 2013 as laboratory program manager for vehicle technologies, overseeing NREL’s cross-cutting research in the sustainable transportation arena.

John.Farrell@nrel.gov
303-275-4434

Photo of Chris Gearhart.

Chris Gearhart

Center Director II-Technical

Chris Gearhart joined NREL in 2012 as director of the Hydrogen Technologies and Systems Center. In 2013 he was appointed to his current position as director of NREL's Center for Integrated Mobility Sciences, where he manages a staff of 150 scientists and engineers developing advanced transportation technologies.

Chris.Gearhart@nrel.gov
303-275-3830

Name Position Email Phone
Burton, Jon Researcher V-Mechanical Engineering Jonathan.Burton@nrel.gov 303-275-3154
Colclasure, Andrew Researcher V-Mechanical Engineering Andrew.Colclasure@nrel.gov 303-275-3195
Dafoe, Wendy Program Manager V-Research Wendy.Dafoe@nrel.gov 303-275-4470
Eger, Rob Researcher IV-Software Development Rob.Eger@nrel.gov 303-275-4554
Farrell, John Laboratory Program Manager, Vehicle Technologies John.Farrell@nrel.gov 303-275-4434
Farrington, Rob Strategic Planning and Business Development Rob.Farrington@nrel.gov 303-275-4448
Finegan, Donal Researcher IV-Chemical Engineering Donal.Finegan@nrel.gov 303-275-4866
Fioroni, Gina Group Research Manager II-Chemical Engineering Gina.Fioroni@nrel.gov 303-275-4475
Garikapati, Venu Team Lead, Transportation Modeling and Metrics Venu.Garikapati@nrel.gov 303-275-4784
Gearhart, Chris Center Director II-Technical Chris.Gearhart@nrel.gov 303-275-3830
Gonder, Jeffrey Group Manager: Mobility, Behavior and Advanced Powertrains Jeff.Gonder@nrel.gov 303-275-4462
Kelly, Kenneth Chief Engineer Kenneth.Kelly@nrel.gov 303-275-4465
Keyser, Matthew Group Manager III-Mechanical Engineering Matthew.Keyser@nrel.gov 303-275-3876
Khan, Faisal Researcher VI-Systems Engineering Faisal.Khan@nrel.gov 303-384-6426
Kisacikoglu, John Researcher V-Electrical Engineering John.Kisacikoglu@nrel.gov 303-384-6662
Kurtz, Jennifer Center Director I-Technical Jennifer.Kurtz@nrel.gov 303-275-4061
Leighton, Daniel Researcher IV-Systems Engineering Daniel.Leighton@nrel.gov 303-275-4180
Levene, Johanna Group Manager III-Data Science Johanna.Levene@nrel.gov 303-275-2922
Lustbader, Jason Acting Group Manager - Advanced Vehicles and Charging Infrastructure Jason.Lustbader@nrel.gov 303-275-4443
Mann, Margaret Group Manager III-Decision Support Analysis Margaret.Mann@nrel.gov 303-275-2921
McCormick, Robert Senior Research Fellow I-Chemical Engineering Robert.McCormick@nrel.gov 303-275-4432
Meintz, Andrew Chief Engineer Andrew.Meintz@nrel.gov 303-275-3179
Muerdter, Nick Researcher V-Software Development Nick.Muerdter@nrel.gov 303-275-4459
Muratori, Matteo Group Manager II-Decision Support Analysis Matteo.Muratori@nrel.gov 303-275-2927
Narumanchi, Sreekant Group Manager III-Mechanical Engineering Sreekant.Narumanchi@nrel.gov 303-275-4062
Oakleaf, Brett Professional V-Capture Manager Brett.Oakleaf@nrel.gov 303-275-3771
Pesaran, Ahmad Chief Energy Storage Engineer Ahmad.Pesaran@nrel.gov 303-275-4441
Melendez, Margo Manager - Transportation Technology Integration Margo.Melendez@nrel.gov 303-275-4479
Romero Lankao, Patricia Researcher V-Behavioral and Decision Support Science Patricia.RomeroLankao@nrel.gov 303-275-4175
Saha, Prantik Postdoctoral Researcher-Chemistry Prantik.Saha@nrel.gov 303-275-4227
Schoon, Ron Executive Manager, Partnership Development Ron.Schoon@nrel.gov 303-275-4644
Schroeder, Alexander Group Research Manager III-Systems Engineering Alex.Schroeder@nrel.gov 303-275-3790
Sears, Ted Program Manager V-Research Ted.Sears@nrel.gov 202-488-2221
Smith, Kandler Researcher VI-Mechanical Engineering Kandler.Smith@nrel.gov 303-275-4423
Sprik, Sam Researcher V-Mechanical Engineering Sam.Sprik@nrel.gov 303-275-4431
Thornburg, Nick Research Engineer III - Reaction Engineering Nicholas.Thornburg@nrel.gov 303-275-4885
Thornton, Matthew Program Manager VI-Research Matthew.Thornton@nrel.gov 303-275-4273
Wipke, Keith Fuel Cell & Hydrogen Technologies LPM Keith.Wipke@nrel.gov 303-275-4451
Wood, Eric Researcher IV-Data Science Eric.Wood@nrel.gov 303-275-3290
Young, Stanley Advanced Transportation & Urban Scientist Stanley.Young@nrel.gov 303-275-3283