News Release: Fossil Ridge Wins 33rd Colorado High School Science Bowl

Team Heading to Washington, D.C., To Compete for National Title

March 6, 2023 | Contact media relations

Five smiling students and a teacher holding a trophy and banner.
For the third consecutive year, Fossil Ridge High School is the winner of the Colorado High School Science Bowl. From left are Kary Fang, Sophie Wang, coach Bryan Riedel, Jackson Dryg, Colin Magelky, and Quentin Perez-Wahl. The students move on to represent Colorado at the U.S. Department of Energy’s National Science Bowl in Washington, D.C. Fourteen schools from around Colorado competed in the event. Photo by Werner Slocum, NREL

Fossil Ridge High School continues their winning streak for a third year in a row to dominate this year's Colorado High School Science Bowl and emerge victorious over second-place finisher Fairview High School in the first in-person competition since 2019. Students from Fossil Ridge will represent the state of Colorado at the U.S. Department of Energy's (DOE’s) National Science Bowl in Washington, D.C., to compete for the national title against students from 64 high school regions.  

DOE created the National Science Bowl in 1991 to encourage students to excel in mathematics and science and to pursue careers in these fields. More than 330,000 students have participated in the National Science Bowl, which stands out as one of the nation’s largest science competitions. DOE's Golden Field Office once again served as one of the major sponsors of this year's event, along with the National Renewable Energy Laboratory (NREL). The laboratory’s involvement is part of its continuing commitment to workforce development through ongoing science, technology, engineering, and math (STEM) education programming.

NREL was pleased to host teams from the following schools for the High School Science Bowl:

  1. Arvada West High School
  2. Centennial High School
  3. Cherokee Trail High School
  4. Cherry Creek High School
  5. Fairview High School
  6. Fort Collins High School
  7. Fossil Ridge High School
  8. Horizon High School
  9. Loveland High School
  10. Loveland Classical Academy
  11. Ridgeview Classical Academy
  12. Rock Canyon High School
  13. Rocky Mountain High School
  14. Severance High School

The National Science Bowl is celebrating more than a quarter century of competition as the only academic event of its kind sponsored by a U.S. government agency. Each year, approximately 9,000 high school students from across the country compete for a chance at the national finals.

Sponsors for the event are the DOE Golden Field Office, the DOE Office of Science, NREL, and the Alliance for Sustainable Energy, LLC.

NREL is the U.S. Department of Energy's primary national laboratory for renewable energy and energy efficiency research and development. NREL is operated for DOE by the Alliance for Sustainable Energy, LLC. 

Tags: News