Skip to main content

Research Staff

Research staff members in NREL’s Materials Science Center are aligned within five groups: Interfacial and Surface Science; Materials Physics; Microscopy and Imaging; Reliability and Systems Engineering; and Thin Film Material Science and Processing.

For lead researcher contacts, see our research areas. For our business contact, see Work With Us.

Photo of Nancy Haegel

Nancy Haegel

Center Director II-Technical

Nancy.Haegel@nrel.gov | 303-384-6548

Photo of Glenn Teeter

Glenn Teeter

Interfacial and Surface Science Group Manager

Glenn.Teeter@nrel.gov | 303-384-6664

Photo of Jeffrey Blackburn

Jeffrey Blackburn

Group Research Manager III-Materials Science

Jeffrey.Blackburn@nrel.gov | 303-384-6649

Photo of Mowafak Al-Jassim

Mowafak Al-Jassim

Senior Research Fellow I-Materials Science

Mowafak.Aljassim@nrel.gov | 303-384-6602

Photo of Teresa Barnes

Teresa Barnes

Group Research Manager III-Materials Science

Teresa.Barnes@nrel.gov | 303-384-6682

Photo of Philip Parilla.

Philip Parilla

Group Manager/Senior Scientist

Philip.Parilla@nrel.gov | 303-384-6506

Name Position Email Phone        
Ahrenkiel, Richard Emeritus Researcher Richard.Ahrenkiel@nrel.gov 303-384-6670
Al-Jassim, Mowafak Senior Research Fellow I-Materials Science Mowafak.Aljassim@nrel.gov 303-384-6602
Alberi, Kirstin Researcher V-Materials Science Kirstin.Alberi@nrel.gov 303-384-7647
Albin, David Researcher V-Materials Science David.Albin@nrel.gov 303-384-6550
Ayala Pelaez, Silvana Researcher III-Physics Silvana.Ayala@nrel.gov 303-384-6545
Barnes, Teresa Group Research Manager III-Materials Science Teresa.Barnes@nrel.gov 303-384-6682
Bell, Robert Postdoctoral Researcher-Materials Science Robert.Bell@nrel.gov 303-384-6681
Berry, Joseph Senior Scientist, Perovskite and Hybrid Solar Cells Team Lead Joe.Berry@nrel.gov 303-384-7611
Blackburn, Jeffrey Group Research Manager III-Materials Science Jeffrey.Blackburn@nrel.gov 303-384-6649
Burrell, Anthony Energy Storage Anthony.Burrell@nrel.gov 303-384-6666
Fluegel, Brian Researcher V-Physics Brian.Fluegel@nrel.gov 303-384-6437
Frisco, Sarah Postdoctoral Researcher-Materials Science Sarah.Frisco@nrel.gov 303-384-6895
Ginley, David Chief Scientist David.Ginley@nrel.gov 303-384-6573
Gorin, Stephen Laboratory Program Manager II-Partnership Development Stephen.Gorin@nrel.gov 303-384-6216
Guthrey, Harvey Researcher IV-Physics Harvey.Guthrey@nrel.gov 303-384-6232
Ha, Yeyoung Researcher III-Chemistry Yeyoung.Ha@nrel.gov 303-275-4687
Habisreutinger, Severin Postdoctoral Researcher-Directors Fellowship Severin.Habisreutinger@nrel.gov 303-275-4814
Haegel, Nancy Center Director II-Technical Nancy.Haegel@nrel.gov 303-384-6548
Harvey, Steve Researcher IV-Materials Science Steve.Harvey@nrel.gov 303-384-6613
Heinselman, Karen Postdoctoral Researcher I-Material Science Karen.Heinselman@nrel.gov 303-384-7677
Jiang, Chun Sheng Senior Scientist Chun.Sheng.Jiang@nrel.gov 303-384-6687
Johnston, Steven Senior Scientist Steve.Johnston@nrel.gov 303-384-6466
Kang, Albert Contingent Worker Albert.Kang@nrel.gov 303-384-6667
Kern, Dana Postdoctoral Researcher I-Material Science Dana.Kern@nrel.gov 303-275-3284
Khan, Imran Postdoctoral Researcher-Materials Science Imran.Khan@nrel.gov 303-275-4857
Lany, Stephan Researcher V-Physics Stephan.Lany@nrel.gov 303-384-6652
Lee, Choong Hee Postdoctoral Researcher-Materials Science Choonghee.Lee@nrel.gov 303-384-6259
Li, Zhaodong Postdoctoral Researcher-Chemistry Zhaodong.Li@nrel.gov 303-384-7229
Li, Zhifei Postdoctoral Researcher-Materials Science Zhifei.Li@nrel.gov 303-384-6676
Mansfield, Lorelle Acting Group Manager Lorelle.Mansfield@nrel.gov 303-384-7884
Maughan, Annalise Postdoctoral Researcher-Directors Fellowship Annalise.Maughan@nrel.gov 303-384-6149
Moutinho, Helio Senior Scientist Helio.Moutinho@nrel.gov 303-384-6457
Norman, Andrew Principal Scientist Andrew.Norman@nrel.gov 303-384-6483
Parilla, Philip Group Manager/Senior Scientist Philip.Parilla@nrel.gov 303-384-6506
Park, Kyusung Researcher IV-Chemistry Kyusung.Park@nrel.gov 303-384-7869
Perkins, Craig Researcher V-Chemistry Craig.Perkins@nrel.gov 303-384-6659
Plattenberger, Dan Postdoctoral Researcher-Chemistry Dan.Plattenberger@nrel.gov 303-275-4178
Reese, Matthew Researcher IV-Physics Matthew.Reese@nrel.gov 303-384-7613
Roberts, Dennice Postdoctoral Researcher-Materials Science Dennice.Roberts@nrel.gov 303-384-7204
Schulte, Kevin Researcher IV-Chemical Engineering Kevin.Schulte@nrel.gov 303-384-6455
Schutt, Kelly Postdoctoral Researcher-Directors Fellowship Kelly.Schutt@nrel.gov 303-384-6494
Simpson, Lin Researcher V-Materials Science Lin.Simpson@nrel.gov 303-384-6625
Springer, Martin Postdoctoral Researcher-Mechanical Engineering Martin.Springer@nrel.gov 303-384-7828
Talley, Kevin Postdoctoral Researcher-Materials Science Kevin.Talley@nrel.gov 303-384-7614
Tamboli, Adele Researcher V-Materials Science Adele.Tamboli@nrel.gov 303-384-7223
Teeter, Glenn Interfacial and Surface Science Group Manager Glenn.Teeter@nrel.gov 303-384-6664
Tellekamp, Brooks Postdoctoral Researcher-Materials Science Brooks.Tellekamp@nrel.gov 303-384-6444
Tenent, Robert Researcher V-Materials Science Robert.Tenent@nrel.gov 303-384-6775
Todd, Paul Postdoctoral Researcher-Materials Science Paul.Todd@nrel.gov 303-275-3626
Wipke, Keith Fuel Cell & Hydrogen Technologies LPM Keith.Wipke@nrel.gov 303-275-4451
Young, Matt Staff Engineer and Dynamic SIMS Specialist Matthew.Young@nrel.gov 303-384-6630
Zakutayev, Andriy Researcher V-Physics Andriy.Zakutayev@nrel.gov 303-384-6467
Zhang, Yicheng Postdoctoral Researcher-Chemistry Yicheng.Zhang@nrel.gov 303-384-6534
Zieleniewska, Ania Postdoctoral Researcher-Chemistry Anna.Zieleniewska@nrel.gov 303-384-7628
van Schilfgaarde, Mark Research Advisor III NEX-Materials Science Mark.VanSchilfgaarde@nrel.gov