Skip to main content

Research Staff

Research staff members in NREL’s Materials Science Center are aligned within five groups: Interfacial and Surface Science; Materials Physics; Microscopy and Imaging; Reliability and Systems Engineering; and Thin Film Material Science and Processing.

For lead researcher contacts, see our research areas. For our business contact, see Work With Us.

Photo of Nancy Haegel

Nancy Haegel

Center Director II-Technical

Nancy.Haegel@nrel.gov | 303-384-6548

Photo of Glenn Teeter

Glenn Teeter

Interfacial and Surface Science Group Manager

Glenn.Teeter@nrel.gov | 303-384-6664

Photo of Jeffrey Blackburn

Jeffrey Blackburn

Group Research Manager III-Materials Science

Jeffrey.Blackburn@nrel.gov | 303-384-6649

Photo of Mowafak Al-Jassim

Mowafak Al-Jassim

Senior Research Fellow I-Materials Science

Mowafak.Aljassim@nrel.gov | 303-384-6602

Teresa Barnes

Group Research Manager III-Materials Science

Teresa.Barnes@nrel.gov | 303-384-6682

Photo of Philip Parilla.

Philip Parilla

Group Manager/Senior Scientist

Philip.Parilla@nrel.gov | 303-384-6506

Name Position Email Phone        
Ahrenkiel, Richard Emeritus Researcher Richard.Ahrenkiel@nrel.gov 303-384-6670
Al-Jassim, Mowafak Senior Research Fellow I-Materials Science Mowafak.Aljassim@nrel.gov 303-384-6602
Alberi, Kirstin Researcher V-Materials Science Kirstin.Alberi@nrel.gov 303-384-7647
Albin, David Researcher V-Materials Science David.Albin@nrel.gov 303-384-6550
Barnes, Teresa Group Research Manager III-Materials Science Teresa.Barnes@nrel.gov 303-384-6682
Berry, Joseph Senior Scientist, Perovskite and Hybrid Solar Cells Team Lead Joe.Berry@nrel.gov 303-384-7611
Blackburn, Jeffrey Group Research Manager III-Materials Science Jeffrey.Blackburn@nrel.gov 303-384-6649
Fluegel, Brian Researcher V-Physics Brian.Fluegel@nrel.gov 303-384-6437
Ginley, David Chief Scientist David.Ginley@nrel.gov 303-384-6573
Gorin, Stephen Laboratory Program Manager II-Partnership Development Stephen.Gorin@nrel.gov 303-384-6216
Guthrey, Harvey Researcher IV-Physics Harvey.Guthrey@nrel.gov 303-384-6232
Haegel, Nancy Center Director II-Technical Nancy.Haegel@nrel.gov 303-384-6548
Harvey, Steve Researcher IV-Materials Science Steve.Harvey@nrel.gov 303-384-6613
Jiang, Chun Sheng Senior Scientist Chun.Sheng.Jiang@nrel.gov 303-384-6687
Johnston, Steven Senior Scientist Steve.Johnston@nrel.gov 303-384-6466
Lany, Stephan Researcher V-Physics Stephan.Lany@nrel.gov 303-384-6652
Mansfield, Lorelle Researcher IV-Materials Science Lorelle.Mansfield@nrel.gov 303-384-7884
Moutinho, Helio Senior Scientist Helio.Moutinho@nrel.gov 303-384-6457
Norman, Andrew Principal Scientist Andrew.Norman@nrel.gov 303-384-6483
Parilla, Philip Group Manager/Senior Scientist Philip.Parilla@nrel.gov 303-384-6506
Perkins, Craig Researcher V-Chemistry Craig.Perkins@nrel.gov 303-384-6659
Reese, Matthew Researcher IV-Physics Matthew.Reese@nrel.gov 303-384-7613
Simpson, Lin Researcher V-Materials Science Lin.Simpson@nrel.gov 303-384-6625
Tamboli, Adele Staff Scientist Adele.Tamboli@nrel.gov 303-384-7223
Teeter, Glenn Interfacial and Surface Science Group Manager Glenn.Teeter@nrel.gov 303-384-6664
Tenent, Robert Researcher V-Materials Science Robert.Tenent@nrel.gov 303-384-6775
Wipke, Keith Fuel Cell & Hydrogen Technologies LPM Keith.Wipke@nrel.gov 303-275-4451
Young, Matt Staff Engineer and Dynamic SIMS Specialist Matthew.Young@nrel.gov 303-384-6630
Zakutayev, Andriy Scientist Andriy.Zakutayev@nrel.gov 303-384-6467