Research Staff

Research staff members in NREL’s Materials Science Center are aligned within five groups: Interfacial and Surface Science; Materials Physics; Microscopy and Imaging; Reliability and Systems Engineering; and Thin Film Material Science and Processing.

For lead researcher contacts, see our research areas. For our business contact, see Work With Us.

Photo of Nancy Haegel

Nancy Haegel

Center Director II-Technical

Nancy is the acting director of the National Photovoltaic Center. She also serves as the center director of the Materials Science Center.

Nancy.Haegel@nrel.gov
303-384-6548

Photo of Glenn Teeter

Glenn Teeter

Interfacial and Surface Science Group Manager

Glenn.Teeter@nrel.gov
303-384-6664

Photo of Jeffrey Blackburn

Jeffrey Blackburn

Group Research Manager III-Materials Science

Jeffrey.Blackburn@nrel.gov
303-384-6649

Photo of Mowafak Al-Jassim

Mowafak Al-Jassim

Contingent Worker-Emeritus Researcher

Mowafak.Aljassim@nrel.gov
303-384-6602

Photo of Teresa Barnes

Teresa Barnes

Group Research Manager III-Materials Science

Teresa.Barnes@nrel.gov
303-384-6682

Photo of Philip Parilla.

Philip Parilla

Group Manager/Senior Scientist

Philip.Parilla@nrel.gov
303-384-6506

Name Position Email Phone
Abzieher, Tobias Postdoctoral Researcher-Chemistry Tobias.Abzieher@nrel.gov 303-384-7915
Ahrenkiel, Richard Contingent Worker-Emeritus Researcher Richard.Ahrenkiel@nrel.gov 303-384-6670
Al-Jassim, Mowafak Contingent Worker-Emeritus Researcher Mowafak.Aljassim@nrel.gov 303-384-6602
Alberi, Kirstin Researcher V-Materials Science Kirstin.Alberi@nrel.gov 303-384-7647
Albin, David Researcher V-Materials Science David.Albin@nrel.gov 303-384-6550
Anderson, Kevin Researcher II-Data Science Kevin.Anderson@nrel.gov 303-384-7139
Barnes, Teresa Group Research Manager III-Materials Science Teresa.Barnes@nrel.gov 303-384-6682
Bauers, Sage Researcher III-Materials Science Sage.Bauers@nrel.gov 303-275-4826
Bell, Robert Researcher III-Materials Science Robert.Bell@nrel.gov 303-384-6681
Berry, Joseph Senior Research Fellow I-Physics Joe.Berry@nrel.gov 303-384-7611
Blackburn, Jeffrey Group Research Manager III-Materials Science Jeffrey.Blackburn@nrel.gov 303-384-6649
Bothwell, Alex Postdoctoral Researcher-Chemistry Alexandra.Bothwell@nrel.gov 303-630-2363
Boyer, Jacob Postdoctoral Researcher-Materials Science Jacob.Boyer@nrel.gov 303-275-3996
Burrell, Anthony Energy Storage Anthony.Burrell@nrel.gov 303-384-6666
Colegrove, Eric Researcher IV-Materials Science Eric.Colegrove@nrel.gov 303-384-7232
Curry-Nkansah, Maria Sr. Research Advisor Maria.CurryNkansah@nrel.gov 303-384-7218
Dong, Yifan Postdoctoral Researcher-Materials Science Yifan.Dong@nrel.gov 303-384-6442
Dutta, Nikita Postdoctoral Researcher-Directors Fellowship Nikita.Dutta@nrel.gov 303-275-4471
Ginley, David Chief Scientist David.Ginley@nrel.gov 303-384-6573
Glynn, Stephen Researcher IV-Semiconductor Engineering Stephen.Glynn@nrel.gov 303-384-7612
Gorin, Stephen Laboratory Program Manager II-Partnership Development Stephen.Gorin@nrel.gov 303-384-6216
Greenaway, Annie Researcher III-Chemistry Ann.Greenaway@nrel.gov 303-384-6576
Guthrey, Harvey Researcher IV-Physics Harvey.Guthrey@nrel.gov 303-384-6232
Ha, Yeyoung Researcher III-Chemistry Yeyoung.Ha@nrel.gov 303-275-4687
Haegel, Nancy Center Director II-Technical Nancy.Haegel@nrel.gov 303-384-6548
Harvey, Steve Researcher IV-Materials Science Steve.Harvey@nrel.gov 303-384-6613
Heinselman, Karen Researcher III-Materials Science Karen.Heinselman@nrel.gov 303-384-7677
Henckel, Danielle Researcher III-Chemistry Danielle.Henckel@nrel.gov 303-275-4860
Howe, Marisa Project Manager V-Research Marisa.Howe@nrel.gov 303-384-7906
Jiang, Chun Sheng Senior Scientist Chun.Sheng.Jiang@nrel.gov 303-384-6687
Johnston, Steven Senior Scientist Steve.Johnston@nrel.gov 303-384-6466
Jungjohann, Katherine Group Research Manager III-Materials Science Katherine.Jungjohann@nrel.gov 303-384-6551
Kang, Albert Researcher Albert.Kang@nrel.gov 303-384-6667
Karas, Joseph Postdoctoral Researcher-Materials Science Joseph.Karas@nrel.gov
Kern, Dana Researcher III-Materials Science Dana.Kern@nrel.gov 303-275-3284
Lany, Stephan Researcher V-Physics Stephan.Lany@nrel.gov 303-384-6652
Nelson, Jocienne Postdoctoral Researcher-Directors Fellowship Jocienne.Nelson@nrel.gov 303-630-5349
Mansfield, Lorelle Researcher IV - Materials Science Lorelle.Mansfield@nrel.gov 303-384-7884
Martinez, Marissa Postdoctoral Researcher-Materials Science Marissa.Martinez@nrel.gov 303-275-4779
Maughan, Annalise Assistant Professor Annalise.Maughan@nrel.gov 303-384-6125
McGott, Deborah Postdoctoral Researcher-Materials Science Deborah.McGott@nrel.gov 303-384-7683
Moutinho, Helio Senior Scientist Helio.Moutinho@nrel.gov 303-384-6457
Muller, Matthew Researcher V-Physics Matthew.Muller@nrel.gov 303-384-6412
Muzzillo, Christopher Researcher III-Materials Science Christopher.Muzzillo@nrel.gov 303-384-7983
Nanayakkara, Sanjini Project Manager III-Research Sanjini.Nanayakkara@nrel.gov 303-384-7980
Norman, Andrew Researcher V-Materials Science Andrew.Norman@nrel.gov 303-384-6483
Ovaitt, Silvana Researcher III-Physics Silvana.Ovaitt@nrel.gov 303-384-6545
Padgett, Elliot Researcher III-Chemistry Elliot.Padgett@nrel.gov 303-384-6105
Palmstrom, Axel Researcher III-Materials Science Axel.Palmstrom@nrel.gov 303-275-4725
Parilla, Philip Group Manager/Senior Scientist Philip.Parilla@nrel.gov 303-384-6506
Perkins, Craig Researcher V-Chemistry Craig.Perkins@nrel.gov 303-384-6659
Raulerson, Emily Postdoctoral Researcher-Chemistry Emily.Raulerson@nrel.gov 303-275-3148
Reese, Matthew Researcher V-Physics Matthew.Reese@nrel.gov 303-384-7613
Roberts, Dennice Researcher III-Materials Science Dennice.Roberts@nrel.gov 303-384-7204
Saha, Prantik Postdoctoral Researcher-Chemistry Prantik.Saha@nrel.gov 303-275-4227
Schulte, Kevin Researcher IV-Chemical Engineering Kevin.Schulte@nrel.gov 303-384-6455
Schutt, Kelly Researcher III-Materials Science Kelly.Schutt@nrel.gov 303-384-6494
Simpson, Lin Researcher V-Materials Science Lin.Simpson@nrel.gov 303-384-6625
Smaha, Rebecca Postdoctoral Researcher-Directors Fellowship Rebecca.Smaha@nrel.gov 303-384-7709
Springer, Martin Researcher III-Materials Science Martin.Springer@nrel.gov 303-384-7828
Teeter, Glenn Interfacial and Surface Science Group Manager Glenn.Teeter@nrel.gov 303-384-6664
Tellekamp, Brooks Researcher III-Materials Science Brooks.Tellekamp@nrel.gov 303-384-6444
Tenent, Robert Researcher V-Materials Science Robert.Tenent@nrel.gov 303-384-6775
Ulicna, Sona Postdoctoral Researcher-Chemistry Sona.Ulicna@nrel.gov 303-384-7523
Vise, Ashlee IT Professional II-Software Development Ashlee.Vise@nrel.gov 303-384-6448
Watts, Alliston Researcher III-Materials Science Alliston.Watts@nrel.gov 303-275-3808
Wipke, Keith Fuel Cell & Hydrogen Technologies LPM Keith.Wipke@nrel.gov 303-275-4451
Yazawa, Kei Postdoctoral Researcher-Materials Science Keisuke.Yazawa@nrel.gov 303-275-3603
Young, Matt Researcher III-Materials Science Matthew.Young@nrel.gov 303-384-6630
Zakutayev, Andriy Researcher V-Physics Andriy.Zakutayev@nrel.gov 303-384-6467
Zhang, Yicheng Postdoctoral Researcher-Chemistry Yicheng.Zhang@nrel.gov 303-384-6534
Zheng, Xiaopeng Postdoctoral Researcher-Chemistry Xiaopeng.Zheng@nrel.gov 303-630-5496
van Schilfgaarde, Mark Research Advisor III-Materials Science Mark.VanSchilfgaarde@nrel.gov 303-630-5416