Leadership Team

Research at the Energy Systems Integration Facility (ESIF) is governed by the U.S. Department of Energy ESIF Steering Committee and the NREL ESIF Resource Allocation Committee.

NREL ESIF leadership staff is listed below.

Photo of Juan Torres

Juan Torres

Associate Lab Director

Juan Torres oversees continuing efforts at the ESIF to strengthen the security and resilience of the nation's electric grid.

Photo of Chad Blake

Chad Blake

Research Operations Director

Chad Blake provides strategic vision and leads the execution of science and technology research operations for the ESIF by ensuring the safe, efficient, and effective conduct of research in grid modernization and energy systems integration.

Photo of Murali Baggu

Murali Baggu

Laboratory Program Manager, Grid Integration

Murali Baggu is shaping the direction of power systems research, which includes overseeing the work being done around the Grid Modernization Initiative program.

Photo of Jerry Davis

Jerry Davis

Laboratory Program Manager, ARIES/ESIF

Jerry Davis is the primary point of contact for developing partnerships that leverage the expertise and capabilities of the ESIF and the Advanced Research on Integrated Energy Systems (ARIES) platform for research across all NREL's technology areas.


If you have questions, please contact us.