Skip to main content

Research Staff

Photo of Achilles Karagiozis

Achilles Karagiozis

Center Director I-Technical

Achilles Karagiozis is the director of NREL’s Buildings and Thermal Sciences Center. He manages a multidisciplinary team of approximately 150 researchers within the laboratory’s Buildings, Concentrating Solar Power, and Geothermal Technologies groups.

Achilles.Karagiozis@nrel.gov | 303-384-7521

Photo of Mark Mehos

Mark Mehos

Group Manager, Thermal Systems R&D

Mark joined NREL in 1986 and manages the Thermal Systems R&D group at NREL, which includes the Concentrating Solar Power (CSP) Program. Since 2001, he served as the CSP program manager. Mark is the leader for the International Energy Agency's SolarPACES "Solar Thermal Electric Power Systems" task, which focuses on the development of international guidelines for modeling and acceptance testing of CSP systems. He has participated on and conducted analysis for several task forces, including New Mexico Governor Richardson's Concentrating Solar Power Task Force, the Solar Task Force for the WGA Clean and Diversified Energy Initiative, and more recently the U.S. Department of Energy's Solar Vision and Renewable Energy Futures studies. He is actively involved in the development of several new grid-integration studies investigating the interaction of CSP systems with thermal energy storage within the western U.S. interconnect.

Mark.Mehos@nrel.gov | 303-384-7458

Photo of Mary Werner.

Mary Werner

Laboratory Program Manager III-Materials Science

In 2015, Mary became the Program Manager for the Solar Program, the flagship program at the lab.

Mary.Werner@nrel.gov | 303-384-7511

Name Position Email Phone        
Augustine, Chad Researcher V-Systems Engineering Chad.Augustine@nrel.gov 303-384-7382
Boyd, Matthew Researcher III-Mechanical Engineering Matthew.Boyd@nrel.gov 303-384-7799
Castillo, Victor Research Technician V-Build Victor.Castillo@nrel.gov 303-384-7476
Davenport, Patrick Researcher I-Mechanical Engineering Patrick.Davenport@nrel.gov 303-275-3161
Gage, Sam Postdoctoral Researcher-Materials Science Samuel.Gage@nrel.gov 303-275-3211
Gerk, Cindy Professional II-Project Controller Cindy.Gerk@nrel.gov 303-384-7693
Gifford, Jeffrey Graduate I-Mechanical Engineering Jeffrey.Gifford@nrel.gov 303-384-7349
Glatzmaier, Gregory Researcher V-Chemical Engineering Greg.Glatzmaier@nrel.gov 303-384-7470
Jape, Sameer Postdoctoral Researcher-Mechanical Engineering Sameer.Jape@nrel.gov 303-275-3847
Karagiozis, Achilles Center Director I-Technical Achilles.Karagiozis@nrel.gov 303-384-7521
Klammer, Noah Graduate I-Physics Noah.Klammer@nrel.gov 303-275-3273
Ma, Zhiwen Researcher V-Mechanical Engineering Zhiwen.Ma@nrel.gov 303-275-3784
Martinek, Janna Researcher III-Chemical Engineering Janna.Martinek@nrel.gov 303-275-3779
McTigue, Joshua Dominic Researcher III-Mechanical Engineering JoshuaDominic.McTigue@nrel.gov 303-275-4682
Mehos, Mark Group Manager, Thermal Systems R&D Mark.Mehos@nrel.gov 303-384-7458
Mitchell, Rebecca Postdoctoral Researcher-Mechanical Engineering Rebecca.Mitchell@nrel.gov 303-384-7475
Neises, Ty Researcher IV-Mechanical Engineering Ty.Neises@nrel.gov 303-275-4537
Netter, Judy Researcher III-Mechanical Engineering Judy.Netter@nrel.gov 303-384-6258
Sharan, Prashant Postdoctoral Researcher-Mechanical Engineering Prashant.Sharan@nrel.gov 303-275-3067
Tirawat, Robert Researcher II-Materials Science Robert.Tirawat@nrel.gov 303-384-6360
Turchi, Craig Principal Engineer Craig.Turchi@nrel.gov 303-384-7565
Vidal, Judith Group Manager, Building Energy Science Judith.Vidal@nrel.gov 303-275-4290
Wagner, Mike Researcher V-Mechanical Engineering Michael.Wagner@nrel.gov 303-384-7430
Werner, Mary Laboratory Program Manager III-Materials Science Mary.Werner@nrel.gov 303-384-7511
Zhao, Youyang Researcher III-Mechanical Engineering Youyang.Zhao@nrel.gov 303-275-4398
Zhu, Guangdong Researcher V-Mechanical Engineering Guangdong.Zhu@nrel.gov 303-275-4497
Zolan, Alex Postdoctoral Researcher-Mechanical Engineering Alexander.Zolan@nrel.gov 303-275-3956