Skip to main content

Research Staff

Research staff members in NREL’s Chemistry and Nanoscience Center are aligned within five groups: Cell and Module Performance; Electrochemical Engineering and Materials Chemistry; High Efficiency Crystalline PV; Molecular and Catalysis Science; and Spectroscopy and Photoscience.

For lead researcher contacts, see our research areas. For our business contact, see Work with Us.

Photo of Jao Vandelagemaat.

Jao Van De Lagemaat

Center Director II-Technical

In addition to his position at NREL, Dr. van de Lagemaat is also a fellow of the Renewable and Sustainable Energy Institute as well as a fellow of the Materials Science and Engineering Program, both at the University of Colorado at Boulder.

Jao.Vandelagemaat@nrel.gov | 303-384-6143

Andrew Ferguson

GROUP MANAGER: SPECTROSCOPY & PHOTOSCIENCE

Andrew.Ferguson@nrel.gov | 303-384-6637

Daniel Friedman

Group Research Manager III-Physics

Daniel.Friedman@nrel.gov | 303-384-6472

 

|

Nathan Neale

Senior Scientist and Group Leader, Molecular and Catalysis Science Group

Nathan.Neale@nrel.gov | 303-384-6165

 

|

Name Position Email Phone        
Ban, Chunmei Researcher V-Chemistry Chunmei.Ban@nrel.gov 303-384-6504
Beard, Matt Researcher VI-Chemistry Matt.Beard@nrel.gov 303-384-6781
Bender, Guido Researcher V-Electrical Engineering Guido.Bender@nrel.gov 303-275-3810
Blackburn, Jeffrey Group Research Manager III-Materials Science Jeffrey.Blackburn@nrel.gov 303-384-6649
Braunecker, Wade Researcher IV-Chemistry Wade.Braunecker@nrel.gov 303-384-7616
Deutsch, Todd Researcher IV-Chemistry Todd.Deutsch@nrel.gov 303-275-3727
Dimitrievska, Mirjana Postdoctoral Researcher-Materials Science Mirjana.Dimitrievska@nrel.gov
Dinh, Huyen Senior Scientist & H2 Production Lead Huyen.Dinh@nrel.gov 303-275-3605
Djire, Abdoulaye Postdoctoral Researcher-Chemistry Abdoulaye.Djire@nrel.gov 303--384-6409
Dunklin, Jeremy Postdoctoral Researcher-Chemistry Jeremy.Dunklin@nrel.gov 303-384-7924
Engtrakul, Chaiwat Researcher IV-Chemistry Chaiwat.Engtrakul@nrel.gov 303-384-6646
Ferguson, Andrew GROUP MANAGER: SPECTROSCOPY & PHOTOSCIENCE Andrew.Ferguson@nrel.gov 303-384-6637
Fluegel, Brian Researcher V-Physics Brian.Fluegel@nrel.gov 303-384-6437
France, Ryan Staff Scientist Ryan.France@nrel.gov 303-384-6441
Friedman, Daniel Group Research Manager III-Physics Daniel.Friedman@nrel.gov 303-384-6472
Gaulding, Ashley Postdoctoral Researcher-Directors Fellowship Ashley.Gaulding@nrel.gov 303-384-6686
Gennett, Thomas Contingent Worker Thomas.Gennett@nrel.gov 303-384-6628
Gorin, Stephen Laboratory Program Manager II-Partnership Development Stephen.Gorin@nrel.gov 303-384-6216
Han, Sang-Don Researcher III-Chemistry Sang-Don.Han@nrel.gov 303-384-7815
Johnson, Justin Researcher V-Chemistry Justin.Johnson@nrel.gov 303-384-6190
Kang, Albert Postdoctoral Researcher-Chemistry Albert.Kang@nrel.gov 303-384-6667
Kuciauskas, Darius Researcher V-Chemistry Darius.Kuciauskas@nrel.gov 303-384-6572
Larson, Bryon Researcher III-Chemistry Bryon.Larson@nrel.gov 303-384-6449
Link-Miller, Elisa Researcher IV-Chemistry Elisa.Miller@nrel.gov 303-384-6777
Luther, Joey Researcher V-Materials Science Joey.Luther@nrel.gov 303-384-6497
Mauger, Scott Scientist - Chemical Engineering Scott.Mauger@nrel.gov 303-384-7371
Neale, Nathan Senior Scientist and Group Leader, Molecular and Catalysis Science Group Nathan.Neale@nrel.gov 303-384-6165
Nozik, Arthur Emeritus Researcher Arthur.Nozik@nrel.gov 303-384-6603
Osmieri, Luigi Postdoctoral Researcher-Chemical Engineering Luigi.Osmieri@nrel.gov 303-275-3861
Reid, Obadiah Contingent Worker Obadiah.Reid@nrel.gov 303-384-6588
Rumbles, Garry Research Fellow - Chemistry and Nanoscience Garry.Rumbles@nrel.gov 303-384-6502
Rupnowski, Peter Researcher IV-Physics Peter.Rupnowski@nrel.gov 303-384-7953
Stradins, Paul Principal Scientist Pauls.Stradins@nrel.gov 303-384-6774
Tremolet de Villers, Bertrand Researcher III-Chemistry Bertrand.Tremolet@nrel.gov 303-275-4138
Turner, John Emeritus Researcher John.Turner@nrel.gov
Ulsh, Michael Manufacturing R&D Project Lead Michael.Ulsh@nrel.gov 303-275-3842
Van De Lagemaat, Jao Center Director II-Technical Jao.Vandelagemaat@nrel.gov 303-384-6143
Wheeler, Lance Researcher III-Materials Science Lance.Wheeler@nrel.gov 303-384-6487
Wipke, Keith Fuel Cell & Hydrogen Technologies LPM Keith.Wipke@nrel.gov 303-275-4451
Young, James Postdoctoral Researcher-Chemistry James.Young@nrel.gov 303-275-4456
Zhang, Hanyu Postdoctoral Researcher I-Chemistry Hanyu.Zhang1@nrel.gov 303-384-6283
Zhu, Kai Researcher V-Materials Science Kai.Zhu@nrel.gov 303-384-6353