Skip to main content

Research Staff

Research staff members in NREL’s Chemistry and Nanoscience Center are aligned within three groups: Molecular and Catalysis Science, Spectroscopy and Photoscience, and Electrochemical Engineering and Materials Chemistry.

For lead researcher contacts, see our research areas. For our business contact, see Work With Us.

Photo of Jao Vandelagemaat.

Jao  Van De Lagemaat

Center Director: Chemistry and Nanoscience

In addition to his position at NREL, Dr. van de Lagemaat is also a fellow of the Renewable and Sustainable Energy Institute as well as a fellow of the Materials Science and Engineering Program, both at the University of Colorado at Boulder.

Jao.Vandelagemaat@nrel.gov | 303-384-6143

Photo of Jeffrey Blackburn

Jeffrey  Blackburn

Group Research Manager III-Materials Science

Dr. Blackburn is a Senior Scientist and Group Manager at NREL, leading projects on a variety of fundamental and applied research topics. His work focuses on low-dimensional carbon and includes the synthesis, purification, separation, and characterization of single-walled carbon nanotubes and graphene.

Jeffrey.Blackburn@nrel.gov | 303-384-6649

Name Position Email Phone        
Arias, Dylan Postdoctoral Researcher-Chemistry Dylan.Arias@nrel.gov 303-384-6770
Ban, Chunmei Researcher V-Chemistry Chunmei.Ban@nrel.gov 303-384-6504
Beard, Matt Researcher VI-Chemistry Matt.Beard@nrel.gov 303-384-6781
Bender, Guido Researcher IV-Electrical Engineering Guido.Bender@nrel.gov 303-275-3810
Blackburn, Jeffrey Group Research Manager III-Materials Science Jeffrey.Blackburn@nrel.gov 303-384-6649
Braunecker, Wade Researcher IV-Chemistry Wade.Braunecker@nrel.gov 303-384-7616
Christians, Jeffrey Contingent Worker Jeffrey.Christians@nrel.gov 303-384-6149
Deutsch, Todd Researcher IV-Chemistry Todd.Deutsch@nrel.gov 303-275-3727
Dimitrievska, Mirjana Postdoctoral Researcher-Materials Science Mirjana.Dimitrievska@nrel.gov
Dinh, Huyen Senior Scientist & H2 Production Lead Huyen.Dinh@nrel.gov 303-275-3605
Djire, Abdoulaye Postdoctoral Researcher-Chemistry Abdoulaye.Djire@nrel.gov 303--384-6409
Dunklin, Jeremy Postdoctoral Researcher-Chemistry Jeremy.Dunklin@nrel.gov 303-384-7924
Engtrakul, Chaiwat Researcher IV-Chemistry Chaiwat.Engtrakul@nrel.gov 303-384-6646
Ferguson, Andrew Acting Group Research Manager Andrew.Ferguson@nrel.gov 303-384-6637
Fluegel, Brian Researcher V-Physics Brian.Fluegel@nrel.gov 303-384-6437
France, Ryan Staff Scientist Ryan.France@nrel.gov 303-384-6441
Gaulding, Ashley Postdoctoral Researcher-Directors Fellowship Ashley.Gaulding@nrel.gov 303-384-6686
Gennett, Thomas Contingent Worker Thomas.Gennett@nrel.gov 303-384-6628
Han, Sang-Don Researcher III-Chemistry Sang-Don.Han@nrel.gov 303-384-7815
Johnson, Justin Researcher V-Chemistry Justin.Johnson@nrel.gov 303-384-6190
Kang, Albert Postdoctoral Researcher-Chemistry Albert.Kang@nrel.gov 303-384-6667
Kuciauskas, Darius Researcher V-Chemistry Darius.Kuciauskas@nrel.gov 303-384-6572
Larson, Bryon Researcher III-Chemistry Bryon.Larson@nrel.gov 303-384-6449
Link, Elisa Researcher III-Chemistry Elisa.Miller@nrel.gov 303-384-6777
Luther, Joey Researcher V-Materials Science Joey.Luther@nrel.gov 303-384-6497
Marius, Noemi Postdoctoral Researcher-Physics Noemie.Marius@nrel.gov 303-384-6465
Mauger, Scott Scientist - Chemical Engineering Scott.Mauger@nrel.gov 303-384-7371
Osmieri, Luigi Postdoctoral Researcher-Chemical Engineering Luigi.Osmieri@nrel.gov 303-275-3861
Reid, Obadiah Contingent Worker Obadiah.Reid@nrel.gov 303-384-6588
Rumbles, Garry Research Fellow - Chemistry and Nanoscience Garry.Rumbles@nrel.gov 303-384-6502
Rupnowski, Peter Researcher III-Physics Peter.Rupnowski@nrel.gov 303-384-7953
Tremolet de Villers, Bertrand Researcher III-Chemistry Bertrand.Tremolet@nrel.gov 303-275-4138
Ulsh, Michael Manufacturing R&D Project Lead Michael.Ulsh@nrel.gov 303-275-3842
Van De Lagemaat, Jao Center Director: Chemistry and Nanoscience Jao.Vandelagemaat@nrel.gov 303-384-6143
Wheeler, Lance Researcher III-Materials Science Lance.Wheeler@nrel.gov 303-384-6487
Yang, Mengjin Contingent Worker Mengjin.Yang@nrel.gov
Yang, Ye Researcher III-Mechanical Engineering Ye.Yang@nrel.gov 303-384-6459
Yoon, Taeho Postdoctoral Researcher-Chemistry Taeho.Yoon@nrel.gov 303-275-4906
Young, James Postdoctoral Researcher-Chemistry James.Young@nrel.gov 303-275-4456
Zhang, Hanyu Postdoctoral Researcher I-Chemistry Hanyu.Zhang1@nrel.gov 303-384-6283
Zhu, Kai Researcher V-Materials Science Kai.Zhu@nrel.gov 303-384-6353