Skip to main content

Research Staff

Research staff members in NREL’s Chemistry and Nanoscience Center are aligned within five groups: Cell and Module Performance; Electrochemical Engineering and Materials Chemistry; High Efficiency Crystalline PV; Molecular and Catalysis Science; and Spectroscopy and Photoscience.

For lead researcher contacts, see our research areas. For our business contact, see Work with Us.

Photo of Jao Vandelagemaat.

Jao Van De Lagemaat

Center Director II-Technical

In addition to his position at NREL, van de Lagemaat is a fellow of the Renewable and Sustainable Energy Institute as well as a fellow of the Materials Science and Engineering Program, both at the University of Colorado at Boulder.

Jao.Vandelagemaat@nrel.gov | 303-384-6143

Andrew Ferguson

GROUP MANAGER: SPECTROSCOPY & PHOTOSCIENCE

Andrew.Ferguson@nrel.gov | 303-384-6637

Daniel Friedman

Manager, Cell and Module Performance Group

Daniel.Friedman@nrel.gov | 303-384-6472

Nathan Neale

Senior Scientist and Group Manager – Interfacial Materials Chemistry

Nathan.Neale@nrel.gov | 303-384-6165

Bryan Pivovar

Bryan Pivovar

Senior Research Fellow I-Materials Science

Bryan Pivovar is a senior research fellow and fuel cell group manager in the Chemistry and Nanosciences Center at NREL. He oversees NREL’s electrolysis and fuel cell research and development activities.

Bryan.Pivovar@nrel.gov | 303-275-3809

Name Position Email Phone        
Allen, Taylor Postdoctoral Researcher-Chemistry Taylor.Allen@nrel.gov 303-384-7561
Attanayake, Nuwan Postdoctoral Researcher-Chemistry Nuwan.Attanayake@nrel.gov 303-384-6786
Aubry, Taylor Postdoctoral Researcher-Chemistry Taylor.Aubry@nrel.gov 303-384-6608
Baez-Cotto, Carlos Postdoctoral Researcher-Chemical Engineering Carlos.BaezCotto@nrel.gov 303-384-7294
Beard, Matt Senior Research Fellow I-Materials Science Matt.Beard@nrel.gov 303-384-6781
Bender, Guido Researcher V-Electrical Engineering Guido.Bender@nrel.gov 303-275-3810
Blackburn, Jeffrey Group Research Manager III-Materials Science Jeffrey.Blackburn@nrel.gov 303-384-6649
Braunecker, Wade Researcher IV-Chemistry Wade.Braunecker@nrel.gov 303-384-7616
Buencuerpo Farina, Jeronimo Postdoctoral Researcher-Physics Jeronimo.Buencuerpo@nrel.gov 303-384-6635
Bukola, Saheed Postdoctoral Researcher-Directors Fellowship Saheed.Bukola@nrel.gov 303-384-6507
Chen, Xihan Postdoctoral Researcher-Chemistry Xihan.Chen@nrel.gov 303-384-7674
Chen, Yingying Postdoctoral Researcher-Chemical Engineering Yingying.Chen@nrel.gov
Deutsch, Todd Researcher V-Chemistry Todd.Deutsch@nrel.gov 303-275-3727
Dinh, Huyen Acting Group Manager Huyen.Dinh@nrel.gov 303-275-3605
Engtrakul, Chaiwat Researcher IV-Chemistry Chaiwat.Engtrakul@nrel.gov 303-384-6646
Enriquez, Angelica Business Support II-Administrative Associate Angelica.Enriquez@nrel.gov 303-384-7717
Ferguson, Andrew GROUP MANAGER: SPECTROSCOPY & PHOTOSCIENCE Andrew.Ferguson@nrel.gov 303-384-6637
Fluegel, Brian Researcher V-Physics Brian.Fluegel@nrel.gov 303-384-6437
France, Ryan Staff Scientist Ryan.France@nrel.gov 303-384-6441
Friedman, Daniel Manager, Cell and Module Performance Group Daniel.Friedman@nrel.gov 303-384-6472
Gaulding, Ashley Researcher III-Chemical Engineering Ashley.Gaulding@nrel.gov 303-384-6686
Gennett, Thomas Joint appointee: Senior Scientist VI and Professor of Chemistry at CSM Thomas.Gennett@nrel.gov 303-384-6628
Gish, Melissa Postdoctoral Researcher-Chemistry Melissa.Gish@nrel.gov 303-384-6459
Gorin, Stephen Laboratory Program Manager II-Partnership Development Stephen.Gorin@nrel.gov 303-384-6216
Han, Sang-Don Researcher III-Chemistry Sang-Don.Han@nrel.gov 303-384-7815
Hao, Ji Postdoctoral Researcher Ji.Hao@nrel.gov 303-384-7206
He, Cheng Postdoctoral Researcher-Chemical Engineering Cheng.He@nrel.gov 303-275-4966
Huang, Zhiyuan Postdoctoral Researcher-Chemistry Zhiyuan.Huang@nrel.gov 303-384-6222
Jiang, Qi Postdoctoral Researcher-Chemistry Qi.Jiang@nrel.gov 303-275-3071
Johnson, Justin Researcher VI-Chemistry Justin.Johnson@nrel.gov 303-384-6190
Joshi, Gajadhar Postdoctoral Researcher-Chemistry Gajadhar.Joshi@nrel.gov 303-275-3209
Kabir, Sadia Postdoctoral Researcher-Chemical Engineering Sadia.Kabir@nrel.gov 303-275-4860
Kang, Allen Postdoctoral Researcher-Chemical Engineering Allen.Kang@nrel.gov 303-275-4199
Khandavalli, Sunilkumar Postdoctoral Researcher II-Material Science Sunilkumar.Khandavalli@nrel.gov 303-384-7239
Kirmani, Ahmad Postdoctoral Researcher-Chemistry Ahmad.Kirmani@nrel.gov 303-384-6440
Klein, Ryan Postdoctoral Researcher-Materials Science Ryan.Klein@nrel.gov
Kuciauskas, Darius Researcher V-Chemistry Darius.Kuciauskas@nrel.gov 303-384-6572
Larson, Bryon Researcher III-Chemistry Bryon.Larson@nrel.gov 303-384-6449
Lin, Lisa Postdoctoral Researcher-Directors Fellowship YunHui.Lin@nrel.gov 303-275-4884
Link-Miller, Elisa Researcher IV-Chemistry Elisa.Miller@nrel.gov 303-384-6777
Lu, Haipeng Postdoctoral Researcher-Chemistry Haipeng.Lu@nrel.gov 303-275-4841
Luther, Joey Senior Scientist, Molecular and Catalysis Science Group Joey.Luther@nrel.gov 303-384-6497
Mangum, John Postdoctoral Researcher-Materials Science John.Mangum@nrel.gov 303-275-3616
Martin, Trevor Postdoctoral Researcher-Chemistry Trevor.Martin@nrel.gov 303-275-3851
Mauger, Scott Researcher IV-Chemical Engineering Scott.Mauger@nrel.gov 303-384-7371
May, Brelon Postdoctoral Researcher-Materials Science Brelon.May@nrel.gov 303-384-6485
McClure, Elisabeth Postdoctoral Researcher-Materials Science Elisabeth.McClure@nrel.gov 303-384-6433
Metaferia, Wondwosen Tilahun Postdoctoral Researcher-Physics Wondwosen.Metaferia@nrel.gov 303-384-6662
Muerdter, Nick Researcher V-Software Development Nick.Muerdter@nrel.gov 303-275-4459
Neale, Nathan Senior Scientist and Group Manager – Interfacial Materials Chemistry Nathan.Neale@nrel.gov 303-384-6165
Nesbitt, Nathan Postdoctoral Researcher-Chemistry Nathan.Nesbitt@nrel.gov 303-384-6403
Nozik, Arthur Emeritus Researcher Arthur.Nozik@nrel.gov 303-384-6603
Nwamba, Charles Postdoctoral Researcher-Chemistry Charles.Nwamba@nrel.gov 303-275-4150
Park, Janghoon Postdoctoral Researcher-Materials Science Janghoon.Park@nrel.gov 303-384-7220
Pekarek, Ryan Postdoctoral Researcher-Chemistry Ryan.Pekarek@nrel.gov 303-384-7277
Pivovar, Bryan Senior Research Fellow I-Materials Science Bryan.Pivovar@nrel.gov 303-275-3809
Reid, Obadiah Contingent Worker Obadiah.Reid@nrel.gov 303-384-6588
Roberts, Dennice Postdoctoral Researcher-Materials Science Dennice.Roberts@nrel.gov 303-384-7204
Rosales, Bryan Postdoctoral Researcher-Chemistry Bryan.Rosales@nrel.gov 303-275-4892
Rose, Aaron Director's Postdoctoral Fellow Aaron.Rose@nrel.gov 303-384-6413
Rugg, Brandon Postdoctoral Researcher-Chemistry Brandon.Rugg@nrel.gov 303-275-4810
Rumbles, Garry Research Fellow - Chemistry and Nanoscience Garry.Rumbles@nrel.gov 303-384-6502
Rupnowski, Peter Researcher IV-Physics Peter.Rupnowski@nrel.gov 303-384-7953
Schelhas, Laura Group Research Manager III-Chemistry Laura.Schelhas@nrel.gov 303-275-3722
Schulze, Max Postdoctoral Researcher-Chemistry Max.Schulze@nrel.gov 303-275-4813
Steiner, Myles Senior Scientist Myles.Steiner@nrel.gov 303-384-7675
Stradins, Pauls Principal Scientist Pauls.Stradins@nrel.gov 303-384-6774
Tervo, Eric Postdoctoral Researcher-Directors Fellowship Eric.Tervo@nrel.gov 303-384-7804
Tong, Jinhui Postdoctoral Researcher-Chemistry Jinhui.Tong@nrel.gov 303-384-7807
Tremolet de Villers, Bertrand Researcher III-Chemistry Bertrand.Tremolet@nrel.gov 303-275-4138
Turner, John Emeritus Researcher John.Turner@nrel.gov
Ulsh, Michael Acting Group Manager Process Science and Engineering Michael.Ulsh@nrel.gov 303-275-3842
Van Cleve, Tim Researcher III-Materials Science Timothy.Vancleve@nrel.gov 303-275-3056
Van De Lagemaat, Jao Center Director II-Technical Jao.Vandelagemaat@nrel.gov 303-384-6143
Wang, Guanxiong Postdoctoral Researcher-Chemistry Guanxiong.Wang@nrel.gov 303-275-3223
Wheeler, Lance Researcher III-Materials Science Lance.Wheeler@nrel.gov 303-384-6487
Wieliczka, Brian Postdoctoral Researcher-Chemistry Brian.Wieliczka@nrel.gov 303-275-3735
Wipke, Keith Fuel Cell & Hydrogen Technologies LPM Keith.Wipke@nrel.gov 303-275-4451
Yang, Junghoon Postdoctoral Researcher-Chemistry Junghoon.Yang@nrel.gov 303-384-6511
Young, David Acting Group Manager David.Young@nrel.gov 303-384-6621
Young, James Researcher III-Chemistry James.Young@nrel.gov 303-275-4456
Zhai, Yaxin Postdoctoral Researcher I-Chemistry Yaxin.Zhai@nrel.gov 303-384-7842
Zhang, Fei Postdoctoral Researcher-Chemistry Fei.Zhang@nrel.gov 303-384-7888
Zhang, Hanyu Postdoctoral Researcher I-Chemistry Hanyu.Zhang1@nrel.gov 303-384-6283
Zhu, Kai Researcher V-Materials Science Kai.Zhu@nrel.gov 303-384-6353