Skip to main content

Research Staff

Photo of Roderick Jackson

Roderick Jackson

Laboratory Program Manager II-Mechanical Engineering

Dr. Roderick Jackson is the laboratory program manager for buildings-related research at NREL. He works closely with senior laboratory management to set the strategic agenda for NREL's buildings portfolio, including all research, development, and market implementation activities, which aim to improve the energy efficiency of building materials and practices.

Roderick.Jackson@nrel.gov | 303-275-4809

Photo of Chuck Kutscher

Chuck Kutscher

Center Director, Buildings and Thermal Systems

Dr. Kutscher has led research in solar heating and cooling, building energy efficiency, solar industrial process heat, geothermal power, and concentrating solar power. He is an American Solar Energy Society (ASES) Fellow and served as the ASES Chair in 2000–2001. He is editor of the 200-page ASES report, Tackling Climate Change in the U.S., which details how energy efficiency and six renewable energy technologies can greatly reduce U.S. carbon emissions by 2030. He has served as an adjunct professor at the University of Colorado Boulder and the Colorado School of Mines.

Chuck.Kutscher@nrel.gov | 303-384-7521

Photo of Bill Livingood

Bill Livingood

Group Manager, Commercial Buildings

Bill is an expert in building energy analysis, computational thermal analysis, and data acquisition and an inventor on three patents for power generation technologies. As manager of the commercial buildings research team, he oversees the development of next generation simulation capabilities and guidance documents such as the Advanced Energy Design Guides (AEDG) that provide building- and U.S. climate zone-specific design recommendations.

William.Livingood@nrel.gov | 303-384-7490

Photo of David Roberts

Dave Roberts

Manager, Residential Buildings Research Group

David joined NREL in 2008. David is the Residential Buildings Research Group Manager. He supports DOE research activities including the Building America program. David has been working in the area of energy efficiency in buildings since 1989 and is a licensed Professional Engineer in Colorado. He has expertise in building science, building energy simulation, and software development. Prior to joining NREL, David worked for Architectural Energy Corporation, where he led energy simulation and software development projects, and served as product manager for the REM/Rate™ home energy rating software.

David.Roberts@nrel.gov | 303-384-7496

Photo of Judith Vidal

Judith Vidal

Group Manager, Building Energy Science

Since Dr. Vidal joined the Building and Thermal Sciences Center in 2010, she has established an international reputation for her cutting-edge work on molten salts. In performing that research, she built a first-class laboratory for measuring the full range of thermophysical material properties and performing corrosion tests. Dr. Vidal is a joint faculty member at the Colorado School of Mines. She has diversified her expertise and capabilities in other technologies such as water splitting electrolysis, fuel cells, thermoelectrics, and biofuels.

Judith.Vidal@nrel.gov | 303-275-4290

Name Position Email Phone        
Balamurugan, Sivasathya Pradha Researcher II-Software Engineering SivasathyaPradha.Balamurugan@nrel.gov 303-275-3883
Ball, Brian Engineering Brian.Ball@nrel.gov 303-275-4569
Benne, Kyle Researcher IV-Software Engineering Kyle.Benne@nrel.gov 303-275-4603
Bernal Heredia, Willy Electrical and Mechanical Engineer Willy.Bernalheredia@nrel.gov 303-384-7404
Bonnema, Eric Researcher III-Mechanical Engineering Eric.Bonnema@nrel.gov 303-384-6185
Booten, Chuck Senior Engineer Chuck.Booten@nrel.gov 303-275-3167
Brackney, Larry Researcher V-Data Science Larry.Brackney@nrel.gov
Burkett, Lena Building Science Research Engineer Lena.Burkett@nrel.gov 202-488-2232
Christensen, Craig Principal Engineer Craig.Christensen@nrel.gov 303-384-7510
Christensen, Dane Manager, Residential Systems Innovation & Performance Dane.Christensen@nrel.gov 303-384-7437
Colgan, Chris Business Support II-Administrative Associate Chris.Colgan@nrel.gov 303-384-7440
Deru, Michael Researcher V-Mechanical Engineering Michael.Deru@nrel.gov 303-384-7503
Earle, Lieko Senior Research Engineer Lieko.Earle@nrel.gov 303-275-4355
Faramarzi, Ramin Researcher V-Mechanical Engineering Ramin.Faramarzi@nrel.gov
Field-Macumber, Kristin Researcher III-Mechanical Engineering Kristin.Field-Macumber@nrel.gov 303-384-7376
Fleming, Katherine Database and Web Applications Engineer Katherine.Fleming@nrel.gov 303-275-4331
Fontanini, Tony Researcher III-Model Engineering Anthony.Fontanini@nrel.gov 303-275-3286
Frank, Steve Senior Systems Engineer Stephen.Frank@nrel.gov 303-275-4249
Gentile Polese, Luigi Lead, Controls and Advanced Analytics Luigi.Gentile.polese@nrel.gov 303-275-4362
Goldwasser, David Researcher IV-Software Engineering David.Goldwasser@nrel.gov 303-275-3785
Guglielmetti, Rob Researcher III-Software Engineering Robert.Guglielmetti@nrel.gov 303-275-4319
Harris, Chioke Researcher III-Model Engineering Chioke.Harris@nrel.gov 303-275-3904
Henze, Gregor Contingent Worker Gregor.Henze@nrel.gov 303-384-6408
Horowitz, Scott Senior Research Engineer Scott.Horowitz@nrel.gov 303-384-7560
Horsey, Ry Software Developer - Commercial Buildings Energy Modeling Henry.Horsey@nrel.gov 303-275-4919
Houssainy, Sammy Researcher II-Mechanical Engineering Sammy.Houssainy@nrel.gov
Jackson, Roderick Laboratory Program Manager II-Mechanical Engineering Roderick.Jackson@nrel.gov 303-275-4809
Jin, Xin Researcher IV-Control Engineering Xin.Jin@nrel.gov 303-275-4360
Kozubal, Eric Sr. Mechanical Engineer Eric.Kozubal@nrel.gov 303-384-6155
Kung, Tau Commercial Buildings Research Engineer Feitau.Kung@nrel.gov 303-275-4357
Kutscher, Chuck Center Director, Buildings and Thermal Systems Chuck.Kutscher@nrel.gov 303-384-7521
Langner, Rois Researcher IV-Mechanical Engineering Margarete.Langner@nrel.gov
Lee, Edwin Researcher III-Mechanical Engineering Edwin.Lee@nrel.gov 303-275-3110
Livingood, Bill Group Manager, Commercial Buildings William.Livingood@nrel.gov 303-384-7490
Long, Nicholas Senior Engineer Nicholas.Long@nrel.gov 303-384-6183
Macumber, Dan Engineering Daniel.Macumber@nrel.gov 303-384-6172
Maguire, Jeff Research Engineer Jeff.Maguire@nrel.gov 303-275-4309
Mayernik, Jack Researcher III-Decision Support Analysis John.Mayernik@nrel.gov 202-488-2209
Merket, Noel Research Engineer Noel.Merket@nrel.gov 303-275-3156
Parker, Andrew Researcher III-Mechanical Engineering Andrew.Parker@nrel.gov 303-275-4568
Pathak, Maharshi Researcher II-Model Engineering Maharshi.Pathak@nrel.gov 303-275-3106
Petersen, Anya Senior Software Engineer Anya.Petersen@nrel.gov 303-275-4598
Pflaum, Noah Researcher III-Mechanical Engineering Noah.Pflaum@nrel.gov 303-384-7527
Phillips, Lucas Research Technician III-Multi Discipline Lucas.Phillips@nrel.gov 303-384-6482
Pless, Shanti Researcher V-Mechanical Engineering Shanti.Pless@nrel.gov 303-384-6365
Polly, Ben Senior Research Engineer Ben.Polly@nrel.gov 303-384-7429
Roberts, Dave Manager, Residential Buildings Research Group David.Roberts@nrel.gov 303-384-7496
Robertson, Joe Research Engineer Joseph.Robertson@nrel.gov 303-275-4575
Rothgeb, Stacey Manager, Residential Integration & Analysis Stacey.Rothgeb@nrel.gov 303-275-4361
Sparn, Bethany Researcher IV-Systems Engineering Bethany.Sparn@nrel.gov 303-384-7442
Studer, Danny Researcher III-Mechanical Engineering Daniel.Studer@nrel.gov 303-275-4368
Swindler, Alex Researcher III-Software Engineering Alex.Swindler@nrel.gov 303-275-3265
Torcellini, Paul Principal Engineer Paul.Torcellini@nrel.gov 303-384-7528
Trenbath, Kim Researcher III-Decision Support Analysis Kim.Trenbath@nrel.gov 303-275-3710
Vidal, Judith Group Manager, Building Energy Science Judith.Vidal@nrel.gov 303-275-4290
Weaver, Evan Researcher III-Software Engineering Evan.Weaver@nrel.gov 303-275-3909
Wheeler, Grant Researcher III-Mechanical Engineering Grant.Wheeler@nrel.gov 303-275-4577
Wilson, Eric Researcher IV-Model Engineering Eric.Wilson@nrel.gov 303-275-4676
Winkler, Jon Senior Research Engineer Jon.Winkler@nrel.gov 303-275-4356
Woods, Jason Senior Research Engineer Jason.Woods@nrel.gov 303-384-6189