Skip to main content

Research Staff

Photo of Daniel Beckley

Daniel  Beckley

Center Director-Lab Facilities

Dan joined NREL in 2010. As the Buildings Technology Laboratory Program Manager, he fosters the relationship with the U.S. Department of Energy Buildings Technologies Office. In addition, he works with senior lab management to set the strategic agenda for NREL's buildings portfolio, including all research, development, and deployment activities.

daniel.beckley@nrel.gov | 303-275-4188

Photo of Chuck Kutscher

Chuck  Kutscher

Center Director, Buildings and Thermal Systems

Dr. Kutscher has led research in solar heating and cooling, building energy efficiency, solar industrial process heat, geothermal power, and concentrating solar power. He is an American Solar Energy Society (ASES) Fellow and served as the ASES Chair in 2000–2001. He is editor of the 200-page ASES report, Tackling Climate Change in the U.S., which details how energy efficiency and six renewable energy technologies can greatly reduce U.S. carbon emissions by 2030. He has served as an adjunct professor at the University of Colorado Boulder and the Colorado School of Mines.

chuck.kutscher@nrel.gov | 303-384-7521

Photo of Bill Livingood

Bill  Livingood

Group Manager, Commercial Buildings

Bill is an expert in building energy analysis, computational thermal analysis, and data acquisition and an inventor on three patents for power generation technologies. As manager of the commercial buildings research team, he oversees the development of next generation simulation capabilities and guidance documents such as the Advanced Energy Design Guides (AEDG) that provide building- and U.S. climate zone-specific design recommendations.

william.livingood@nrel.gov | 303-384-7490

Photo of David Roberts

Dave  Roberts

Group Manager, Residential Buildings

David joined NREL in 2008. David is the Residential Buildings Research Group Manager. He supports DOE research activities including the Building America program. David has been working in the area of energy efficiency in buildings since 1989 and is a licensed Professional Engineer in Colorado. He has expertise in building science, building energy simulation, and software development. Prior to joining NREL, David worked for Architectural Energy Corporation, where he led energy simulation and software development projects, and served as product manager for the REM/Rate™ home energy rating software.

david.roberts@nrel.gov | 303-384-7496

Name Position Email Phone        
Ball, Brian Engineer IV-Multi Discipline brian.ball@nrel.gov 303-275-4569
Beckley, Daniel Center Director-Lab Facilities daniel.beckley@nrel.gov 303-275-4188
Benne, Kyle Engineer III-Multi Discipline kyle.benne@nrel.gov 303-275-4603
Bernal Heredia, Willy Electrical and Mechanical Engineer willy.bernalheredia@nrel.gov 303-384-7404
Bonnema, Eric Engineer III-Multi Discipline eric.bonnema@nrel.gov 303-384-6185
Booten, Chuck Senior Engineer chuck.booten@nrel.gov 303-275-3167
Brackney, Larry Engineer V-Multi Discipline larry.brackney@nrel.gov 303-384-7443
Carmichael, Scott Enernet Engineer Scott.Carmichael@nrel.gov 303-275-3955
Christensen, Craig Principal Engineer craig.christensen@nrel.gov 303-384-7510
Christensen, Dane Manager, Residential Systems Innovation & Performance dane.christensen@nrel.gov 303-384-7437
Deru, Michael Section Manager, Systems Performance michael.deru@nrel.gov 303-384-7503
Earle, Lieko Senior Research Engineer lieko.earle@nrel.gov 303-275-4355
Faramarzi, Ramin Principal Engineer ramin.faramarzi@nrel.gov
Field-Macumber, Kristin Engineer III-Multi Discipline Kristin.Field-Macumber@nrel.gov 303-384-7376
Fleming, Katherine Database and Web Applications Engineer katherine.fleming@nrel.gov 303-275-4331
Frank, Steve Senior Systems Engineer stephen.frank@nrel.gov 303-275-4249
Gentile Polese, Luigi Acting Section Manager for Controls and Analysis Tools luigi.gentile.polese@nrel.gov 303-275-4362
Goldwasser, David Engineer IV-Multi Discipline david.goldwasser@nrel.gov 303-275-3785
Guglielmetti, Rob Engineer III-Multi Discipline robert.guglielmetti@nrel.gov 303-275-4319
Henze, Gregor Contingent Worker Gregor.Henze@nrel.gov 303-384-6408
Honnekeri, Anoop Engineer III-Multi Discipline anoop.honnekeri@nrel.gov 303-275-3134
Horowitz, Scott Senior Research Engineer scott.horowitz@nrel.gov 303-384-7560
Horsey, Ry Software Developer - Commercial Buildings Energy Modeling henry.horsey@nrel.gov 303-275-4919
Jin, Xin Controls Engineer xin.jin@nrel.gov 303-275-4360
Kozubal, Eric Sr. Mechanical Engineer eric.kozubal@nrel.gov 303-384-6155
Kung, Tau Commercial Buildings Research Engineer feitau.kung@nrel.gov 303-275-4357
Kutscher, Chuck Center Director, Buildings and Thermal Systems chuck.kutscher@nrel.gov 303-384-7521
Langner, Rois Commercial Buildings Research Engineer Margarete.Langner@nrel.gov 303-275-4329
Lee, Edwin Engineer III-Multi Discipline edwin.lee@nrel.gov 303-275-3110
Livingood, Bill Group Manager, Commercial Buildings william.livingood@nrel.gov 303-384-7490
Long, Nicholas Senior Engineer nicholas.long@nrel.gov 303-384-6183
Macumber, Dan Engineer IV-Multi Discipline daniel.macumber@nrel.gov 303-384-6172
Maguire, Jeff Engineer III-Multi Discipline jeff.maguire@nrel.gov 303-275-4309
Merket, Noel Research Engineer noel.merket@nrel.gov 303-275-3156
Merrigan, Tim Senior Project Leader tim.merrigan@nrel.gov 303-384-7349
Parker, Andrew Engineer III-Multi Discipline andrew.parker@nrel.gov 303-275-4568
Petersen, Anya Senior Software Engineer anya.petersen@nrel.gov 303-275-4598
Phillips, Lucas Research Technician III-Multi Discipline lucas.phillips@nrel.gov 303-384-6482
Pless, Shanti Manager II-Technical shanti.pless@nrel.gov 303-384-6365
Polly, Ben Senior Research Engineer ben.polly@nrel.gov 303-384-7429
Roberts, Dave Group Manager, Residential Buildings david.roberts@nrel.gov 303-384-7496
Robertson, Joe Research Engineer joseph.robertson@nrel.gov 303-275-4575
Rothgeb, Stacey Manager, Residential Integration & Analysis stacey.rothgeb@nrel.gov 303-275-4361
Scheib, Jennifer Engineer III-Multi Discipline jennifer.scheib@nrel.gov 303-275-4323
Sparn, Bethany Research Engineer - Residential Buildings bethany.sparn@nrel.gov 303-384-7442
Studer, Danny Engineer III-Multi Discipline daniel.studer@nrel.gov 303-275-4368
Swindler, Alex Engineer III-Multi Discipline alex.swindler@nrel.gov 303-275-3265
Torcellini, Paul Principle Engineer paul.torcellini@nrel.gov 303-384-7528
Trenbath, Kim Engineer III-Multi Discipline kim.trenbath@nrel.gov 303-275-3710
Weaver, Evan Engineer III-Multi Discipline evan.weaver@nrel.gov 303-275-3909
Wilson, Eric Research Engineer eric.wilson@nrel.gov 303-275-4676
Winkler, Jon Senior Engineer jon.winkler@nrel.gov 303-275-4356
Woods, Jason Senior Research Engineer jason.woods@nrel.gov 303-384-6189