Skip to main content

Research Staff

Photo of Daniel Laird

Daniel  Laird

Center Director I-Technical

Dr. Daniel Laird is director of the National Wind Technology Center (NWTC). Laird also serves as an executive committee member of the U.S. Department of Energy's (DOE's) Atmosphere to Electrons Wind Plant Optimization Initiative and provides leadership in the focus areas of high-fidelity modeling, wind power plant controls, and rotor dynamics. Prior to joining NREL in 2015, he spent 19 years at Sandia National Laboratories leading wind energy and water power research efforts in structural analysis and simulation, computational design tools, advanced manufacturing, composite materials, and blade reliability.

daniel.laird@nrel.gov | 303-384-7100

Photo of Brian Smith

Brian  Smith

Acting Laboratory Program Manager II-Multi Discipline

Brian Smith is the partnership manager for the NWTC and focuses on portfolio diversification, capability enhancement, and strategy. Smith joined NREL in 1988, first as a test engineer for advanced airfoil blades and then as the project leader for advanced wind technology development and field verification partnerships with industry. He managed the DOE Turbine Research and DOE-Electric Power Research Institute Turbine Verification Program activities at NREL in the 1990s that helped reinvigorate the development and deployment of wind technology and power plants in the United States. Smith served as the manager of NREL's Laboratory Wind and Water Power Program from 2002 to 2014 and acting NWTC director from 2014 to 2015. He is the U.S. alternate member and vice chair of the executive committee for the International Energy Agency's Technology Collaboration Program for Wind Energy Systems Research, Development, and Demonstration.

brian.smith@nrel.gov | 303-384-6911

Photo of Paul Veers

Paul  Veers

Chief Engineer

Paul Veers is the chief engineer at the NWTC and also represents NREL on DOE's Atmosphere to Electrons Executive Management Committee. He has worked in the area of wind energy technology since 1980, conducting research on wind energy systems—including atmospheric turbulence simulation, fatigue analysis, reliability, structural dynamics, aeroelastic tailoring of blades, and the evaluation of design requirements. Prior to his role at NREL, he was a distinguished member of the technical staff at Sandia National Laboratories. Veers has authored more than 70 articles, papers, book chapters, and reports, and for 12 years he was the chief editor for Wind Energy, an international journal for progress and applications in wind power.

paul.veers@nrel.gov | 303-384-7197

Name Position Email Phone
Anstedt, Sheri Professional III-Writer/Editor/Web Content sheri.anstedt@nrel.gov 303-275-3255
Baker, Donald Research Technician V-Multi Discipline don.baker@nrel.gov 303-384-7162
Baranowski, Ruth Contingent Worker ruth.baranowski@nrel.gov 303-384-6973
Baring-Gould, Edward Technology Deployment Manager, Wind and Water Power ian.baring-gould@nrel.gov 303-384-7021
Beach, Ryan Contingent Worker ryan.beach@nrel.gov 303-384-6949
Byrne, Tiffany Business Support II-Offshore Wind and Water Power tiffany.byrne@nrel.gov 303-275-4907
Cardinal, Arielle Project Leader II-Technical arielle.cardinal@nrel.gov 303-384-6925
Carlin, Palmer Engineer IV-Multi Discipline palmer.carlin@nrel.gov 303-384-6945
Christol, Corrie Project Coordinator, Wind & Water Deployment corrie.christol@nrel.gov 303-384-7110
Churchfield, Matthew Senior Engineer matt.churchfield@nrel.gov 303-384-7080
Cisneros, Beverly Business Support II-Administrative Associate beverly.cisneros@nrel.gov 303-384-6979
Clifton, Andy Manager III-Technical andrew.clifton@nrel.gov 303-275-3760 or 303-384-7141 303-275-3760 or 303-384-7141
Cotrell, Jason Manager, Innovation & Reliability jason.cotrell@nrel.gov 303-384-7056
Damiani, Rick Engineer V-Multi Discipline rick.damiani@nrel.gov 303-384-7115
Dana, Scott Mechanical and Vibrations Engineer scott.dana@nrel.gov 303-384-7036
DeGeorge, Elise Project Leader elise.degeorge@nrel.gov 303-384-7136
Domenico, Kim Business Support II kim.domenico@nrel.gov 303-384-6951
Draxl, Caroline Scientist III-Multi Discipline caroline.draxl@nrel.gov 303-384-7020
Driscoll, Rick Senior Engineer frederick.driscoll@nrel.gov 303-384-7153
Dykes, Katherine Engineer IV-Multi Discipline katherine.dykes@nrel.gov 303-384-7260
Fairchild, Sara Research Technician II-Multi Discipline sara.fairchild@nrel.gov 303-384-7114
Fields, Jason Engineer III-Multi Discipline michael.fields@nrel.gov 303-384-7150
Fingersh, Lee Jay Engineer V-Multi Discipline Lee.Fingersh@nrel.gov 303-384-6929
Fleming, Paul Engineer IV-Multi Discipline paul.fleming@nrel.gov 303-384-6918
Gevorgian, Vahan Chief Engineer vahan.gevorgian@nrel.gov 303-384-6940
Green, Jim Sr. Project leader jim.green@nrel.gov 303-384-6913
Guo, Yi Engineer IV-Multi Discipline yi.guo@nrel.gov 303-384-7187
Hand, Maureen Sr. Engineer maureen.hand@nrel.gov 303-384-6933
Hayman, Gregory Engineer IV-Multi Discipline gregory.hayman@nrel.gov 303-384-7024
Huskey, Arlinda Engineer V-Manager arlinda.huskey@nrel.gov 303-384-6987
Jacobson, Mark Project Leader IV-Technical mark.jacobson@nrel.gov 303-384-6902
Jager, David Engineer III-Multi Discipline david.jager@nrel.gov 303-384-6954
Jenks, Michael Research Technician V-Multi Discipline mike.jenks@nrel.gov 303-384-6994
Jenne, Dale Engineer III-Multi Discipline dale.jenne@nrel.gov 303-384-7248
Jimenez, Tony Engineer IV-Multi Discipline tony.jimenez@nrel.gov 303-384-7027
Johansson, Timothy HVAC Chief Engineer Tim.Johansson@nrel.gov 303-384-6970
Johnson, Kathryn Contingent Worker kathryn.johnson@nrel.gov 303-384-7013
Jonkman, Jason Senior Engineer - Wind Turbine Multi-Physics Engineering Modeling jason.jonkman@nrel.gov 303-384-7026
Keller, Jon Engineer V-Multi Discipline jonathan.keller@nrel.gov 303-384-7011
Kilcher, Levi Engineer IV-Multi Discipline levi.kilcher@nrel.gov 303-384-7192
Laird, Daniel Center Director I-Technical daniel.laird@nrel.gov 303-384-7100
Lantz, Eric Project Leader IV-Manager eric.lantz@nrel.gov 303-384-7418
Laurie, Carol Project Leader III-General carol.laurie@nrel.gov 303-275-3655 or 303-384-6984 303-275-3655 or 303-384-6984
Lawson, Michael Senior Engineer michael.lawson@nrel.gov 303-384-7196
Lemke, Alex Project Leader IV-General alexsandra.lemke@nrel.gov 303-384-7018
Lundquist, Julie Contingent Worker julie.lundquist@nrel.gov
McDade, Mark Sr. Project Manager mark.mcdade@nrel.gov 303-384-6961
Moriarty, Patrick Engineering Manager patrick.moriarty@nrel.gov 303-384-7081
Muljadi, Eduard Engineer V-Multi Discipline eduard.muljadi@nrel.gov 303-384-6904
Musial, Walter Engineer VI-Multi Discipline walter.musial@nrel.gov 303-384-6956
Neiman, Shelley Business Support III-Administrative Associate shelley.neiman@nrel.gov 303-384-6921
Nelson, Eric Engineer IV-Multi Discipline eric.nelson@nrel.gov 303-384-7155
Newman, Jennifer Postdoctoral Researcher-Directors Fellowship Jennifer.Newman@nrel.gov 303-275-4998
Nixon, Steve Facility Manager steve.nixon@nrel.gov 303-384-7374
Oteri, Frank Contingent Worker frank.oteri@nrel.gov 303-384-6952
Preus, Robert Project Leader/Program Manager V-Technical robert.preus@nrel.gov 303-384-7284
Quon, Eliot Postdoctoral Researcher II-Computational Sciences eliot.quon@nrel.gov 303-384-7172
Ringwall, Jim NWTC EHS POC jim.ringwall@nrel.gov 303-384-7256
Roadman, Jason Engineer III-Multi Discipline Jason.Roadman@nrel.gov 303-384-6992
Robertson, Amy Engineer V-Multi Discipline amy.robertson@nrel.gov 303-384-7157
Robichaud, Robert Engineer IV-Multi Discipline robi.robichaud@nrel.gov 303-384-6969
Rooney, Samantha Project Leader I-General samantha.rooney@nrel.gov 303-384-6924
Scholbrock, Andy Engineer III-Multi Discipline andrew.scholbrock@nrel.gov 303-384-7181
Scholbrock, Dana Business Support III-Administrative Associate dana.scholbrock@nrel.gov 303-384-7023
Schreck, Scott Principal Engineer scott.schreck@nrel.gov 303-384-7102
Scott, George Scientist IV-Multi Discipline george.scott@nrel.gov 303-384-6903
Sethuraman, Latha Postdoctoral Researcher II-Computational Sciences latha.sethuraman@nrel.gov 303-384-7481
Sheng, Shawn Senior Engineer shuangwen.sheng@nrel.gov 303-384-7106
Simms, David Center Director-Lab Facilities david.simms@nrel.gov 303-384-6942
Sinclair, Karin Project Leader/Program Manager V-Technical karin.sinclair@nrel.gov 303-384-6946
Sirnivas, Senu Engineer VI-Multi Discipline senu.sirnivas@nrel.gov 303-384-7250
Smith, Brian Acting Laboratory Program Manager II-Multi Discipline brian.smith@nrel.gov 303-384-6911
Snowberg, David Engineer V-Multi Discipline david.snowberg@nrel.gov 303-384-6920
Sprague, Michael Scientist V-Multi Discipline michael.a.sprague@nrel.gov 303-275-4367
St. Martin, Briesa Project Leader I-General briesa.st.martin@nrel.gov 303-384-6972
Stehly, Tyler Engineer II-Multi Discipline tyler.stehly@nrel.gov 303-384-7190
Straw, Bethany Business Support Specialist bethany.straw@nrel.gov 303-275-4557
Szydlek, Cynthia NWTC Training Coordinator/Project Support cynthia.szydlek@nrel.gov 303-384-7053
Tegen, Suzanne Wind and Water Deployment Manager suzanne.tegen@nrel.gov 303-384-6939
Thresher, Robert Research Fellow robert.thresher@nrel.gov 303-384-6922
Veers, Paul Chief Engineer paul.veers@nrel.gov 303-384-7197
Vijayakumar, Ganesh Postdoctoral Researcher II-Mechanical Engineering Ganesh.Vijayakumar@nrel.gov 303-384-7118
Wendt, Fabian Research Engineer fabian.wendt@nrel.gov 303-384-6941
Wilde, Scott NWTC Research Operations Manager scott.wilde@nrel.gov 303-384-7074
Wright, Alan Engineer VI-Multi Discipline alan.wright@nrel.gov 303-384-6928
Young, Don Professional IV-EHS don.young@nrel.gov 303-384-7144
van Rij, Jennifer Research Engineer – Ocean Energy jennifer.vanrij@nrel.gov 303-384-7180