Carve-out: 0.3% of annual electricity sales in 2021 should come from solar electricity
Tracking system: Midwest Renewable Energy Tracking System (M-RETS)
Renewable portfolio standard (RPS) applies to state investor-owned utilities and not municipal utilities or electric cooperatives.
Missouri limits net metering and interconnection of renewable energy systems to 100 kW. The state provides loans to local governments, schools, state governments, and institutions. Solar energy systems are exempt from state, local, and county property taxes. Utilities offer low-interest loans and solar rebates.
- In October 2016, the Missouri Public Service Commission (MPSC) approved community solar projects up to 1 MW.
- In December 2016, MPSC approved a utility-led solar pilot for Ameren with 3–5 projects ranging from 100 kW to 2 MW.
Missouri's net metering policy applies to all investor-owned utilities (IOUs), municipal utilities, and cooperatives.
System size limit: 100 kW
Aggregate cap: Based on previous calendar year, 1% of utility's single-hour peak load (annually) and 5% of utility's single-hour peak load
Credit: Net excess generation is credited at avoided-cost rate
RECs: Renewable energy certificate (REC) ownership can be transferred to utilities under some circumstances, but RECs are otherwise retained by the customer-generators
Meter aggregation: Not addressed
Systems up to 100 kW that are sited on a facility that is either owned, leased, or otherwise operated by the customer are eligible for interconnection under Missouri’s Net Metering and Easy Connection Act, enacted in 2007. The systems must be used to offset customers’ own electricity requirements.
|Eligible Systems||Type of Interconnection|
|≤10 kW||Simplified (within 30 days)|
|>10 kW and <100 kW||Simplified (within 90 days )|
System size limit: 100 kW
Liability insurance: There are no requirements for systems <10 kW; systems >10 kW are required to be insured for $100,000
External disconnect switch: Utility's discretion
Third Party Ownership
The status of solar power purchase agreements (PPAs) in Missouri is unclear or unknown.
The MPSC approved community solar projects for residential and business customers upto 1 MW, as proposed by the IOU Ameren, in October 2016. Residential and commercial customers can sign up for up to 100 kWh blocks of solar capacity. Customers can subscribe to up to half of their average usage over the past 12 months.
State Incentive Programs
|Energy Loan Program||Missouri Department of Economic Development||The state provides loans to local governments, schools, state governments, and institutions of up to $1,000,000 for a term of 10 years and interest rate of 2.75%.|
|Solar Property Tax Exemption||State Tax Commission of Missouri||In Missouri, solar energy systems are exempt from state, local, and county property taxes if they are not a resale.|
Utility Incentive Programs
|Columbia Water & Light||Low-interest loans for photovoltaic systems.||Loan terms range 1% for up to three years, 3% for 4–5 years, and 5% for 6–10 years. Loans are capped at $15,000 for residential customers and $30,000 for commercial customers.|
|Ameren||MPSC approved an Ameren project in which the utility will construct, install, own, operate, and maintain solar facilities on customer property.||3–5 projects in the range of 100 kW to 2 MW will be installed under this pilot program.|
The list below provides some resources for each type of policy or program. Please reference and contact relevant authorities and local utilities for the most up-to-date and accurate information on state and utility policies and incentive programs.