Rebecca Scheidt is a postdoctoral researcher in NREL’s Chemistry and Nanoscience Center in Matt Beard’s group.  Her work focuses on studying the excited state properties of metal halide perovskites using ultrafast spectroscopy.  Her research also includes understanding the charge carrier dynamics of perovskites in solar cell architectures.

For additional information, see Rebecca Scheidt's LinkedIn Profile.

Disclaimer: Any opinions expressed on LinkedIn are the author’s own, made in the author's individual capacity, and do not necessarily reflect the views of NREL.

Research Interests

Ultrafast spectroscopy of charge carrier dynamics in semiconductors

Optical properties of metal halide perovskites

Excited state behavior of semiconductors at interfaces


Ph.D., Physical Chemistry, University of Notre Dame

B.S., Chemistry, University of Miami

Featured Work

Temperature Driven Anion Migration in Lead Halide Perovskites, The Journal of Chemical Physics (2019)

Bidirectional Halide Ion Exchange in Physically Paired Lead Halide Perovskite Films with Thermal Activation, ACS Energy Letter (2019)

Tracking Transformative Transitions: From CsPbBr3 Nanocrystals to Bulk Perovskite Films, ACS Materials Letters (2018)

Hierarchical Arrays of Cesium Lead Halide Perovskite Nanocrystals through Electrophoretic Deposition, Journal of the American Chemical Society (2018)

To Exchange or Not to Exchange: Suppressing Anion Exchange in Cesium Lead Halide Perovskites with PbSO4-oleate Capping, ACS Energy Letters (2018)

Interfacial Charge Transfer between Excited CsPbBr3 Nanocrystals and TiO2: Charge Injection versus Photodegradation, The Journal of Physical Chemistry Letters (2018)

Modulation of Charge Recombination in CsPbBr3 Films under Electrochemical Bias, Journal of the American Chemical Society (2017)

Electrochemistry and Spectroelectrochemistry of Lead Halide Perovskite Films: Materials Science Aspects and Boundary Conditions, Chemistry of Materials (2017)

Awards and Honors

Notre Dame Center for Environmental Science and Technology Pre-Doctoral Fellowship (2019)

Patrick and Jana Eilers Graduate Fellowship for Energy Related Research (2018)

Arthur J. Schmitt Leadership Fellowship in Science and Engineering (2016)