Bin Wang

Bin Wang

Researcher III-Electrical Engineering


Bin Wang joined NREL in 2019 and is a member of the Transmission & Distribution Interactions Group within the Grid Planning and Analysis Center. His background is all about power system dynamics, including analysis and simulation of power system electromechanical dynamics and electro-magnetic transient dynamics. His current research and efforts aim to evaluate the dynamical impact of high penetration of inverter-based resources (IBRs) and develop better solutions for power system planning and operation.

Research Interests

Electro-magnetic transient simulation and analysis of IBR-dominated large-scale power grids

Power system oscillations

Power system analysis, stability, and control


Ph.D., Electrical Engineering, University of Tennessee Knoxville

M.S., Electrical Engineering, Xi’an Jiaotong University

B.S., Electrical Engineering, Xi’an Jiaotong University

Associations and Memberships

Member, Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE)

Member, IEEE Power and Energy Society

Featured Work

Network Reduction for Power Hardware-in-the-Loop Simulation, IEEE Kansas Power and Energy Conference (2021)

Demystifying Power System Oscillations – Recent and Ongoing Efforts, Joint Synchronized Information Subcommittee Meeting (2021)

DC-AC Tool: Fully Automating the Acquisition of AC Power Flow Solution, NREL Technical Report (2021)

IEEE-NASPI Oscillation Source Location Contest, Website (2021)

Collection of Numerous Power Flow Solutions of Standard IEEE Test Systems, IEEE DataPort (2019)

Awards and Honors

Key Contributor Award by National Renewable Energy Laboratory (2020)

Extraordinary Professional Promise by University of Tennessee Knoxville (2017)

Min H. Kao Fellowship Award by University of Tennessee Knoxville (2016–2017)

Most Valuable Players Award of North American SynchroPhasor Initiative by U.S. Department of Energy (2016)

Best Reviewer Award by IEEE Transactions on Smart Grid (2016)

ABB Fellowship Award by Xi’an Jiaotong University (2008–2010)