Skip to main content

Wind Powering America Announces Outstanding Partner Awards

May 20, 2013

The following people and groups were recognized at the Wind Powering America All-States Summit in Chicago on May 9, 2013:

  • South Dakota Wind Working Group, Outstanding Wind Working Group
    For steadfastness and excellence in conducting wind outreach to South Dakota stakeholders
  • Ken Starcher and Vaughn Nelson, Alternative Energy Institute at West Texas A&M University, Outstanding Wind Leadership in Education Award
    For ongoing, extraordinary efforts to advance wind energy education
  • James Madison University, Outstanding Wind Powering America Partner Award
    For continuing support of Wind Powering America (including the Wind for Schools Project and the offshore JEDI analysis) and dogged persistence in helping to further wind development in Virginia
  • Andy Kruse, Larry Flowers Outstanding Leadership Award
    For being a visionary, an advocate, a salesman, an optimist, and a tireless spokesman for distributed wind
  • Simon Mahan, Novus Ventus (New Wind) Award
    For dedication to wind energy outreach efforts and helping to ignite interest in land-based and offshore wind development in the Southeast
  • Brent Summerville, Small Wind Leadership Award
    For visionary leadership and constant striving to increase the credibility of the small wind network
  • Western Resource Advocates, Western Regional Leadership Award
    For bold leadership in supporting renewable energy development and articulating the water/energy nexus in the Western states
  • Wind on the Wires, Midwestern Regional Leadership Award
    For ongoing efforts to overcome barriers to wind energy deployment in the Midwest
  • Clean Energy States Alliance, Eastern Regional Leadership Award
    For extraordinary efforts to facilitate and support wind energy deployment in the Eastern states
  • Chugach Electric Association, Fire Island Wind Farm, Cook Inlet Region Inc. (CIRI), Carpe Ventum Award
    In recognition of efforts to develop the first utility-scale wind farm in Alaska.

A list of past award winners is available.

—Julie Jones