Skip to main content

Nominate the Wind Cooperative of the Year for 2012

November 19, 2012

The 2012 Wind Cooperative of the Year Award will honor one electric cooperative for its leadership in wind power. All electric cooperatives that are members of the National Rural Electric Cooperative Association (NRECA) are eligible to apply. Cooperatives can nominate themselves or other cooperatives, and there is no cost to enter. The Wind Cooperative of the Year Award is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Energy (Energy Department) in partnership with NRECA.

This year marks the twelfth anniversary of the award. The 2012 winner will be recognized at the NRECA TechAdvantage Conference in New Orleans, Louisiana, the week of February 18-21, 2013.

Please submit nominations by December 12, 2012 to Randy Manion, Western Area Power Administration, P.O. Box 281213, Lakewood, CO 80228-8213.

Since the award's inception, created by NRECA and the Energy Department's Wind Powering America outreach and education initiative, winners have included Iowa Lakes Electric Cooperative, Minnkota Power Cooperative, Kodiak Electric Association, Wolverine Power Supply Cooperative, Alaska Village Electric Cooperative, Associated Electric Cooperative, Illinois Rural Electric Cooperative, Western Farmers Electric Cooperative, Holy Cross Energy, Basin Electric Power Cooperative, and Great River Energy. More information about past award recipients is available on the Wind Powering America website.

—Julie Jones