Skip to main content

2012 Public Power Wind Award Nominations

March 20, 2012

The 2012 Public Power Wind Award will honor one public power utility (PPU) for its leadership in wind power. All utilities that are members of the American Public Power Association (APPA) are eligible to apply. Anyone can nominate a PPU, including self-nomination of a PPU. There is no cost to participate. The 2012 Public Power Wind Award is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Energy's Wind Powering America initiative in partnership with the APPA.

This year marks the tenth anniversary of the award. The 2012 winner will be recognized at the APPA National Conference in Seattle, WA, June 17-20, 2012.

Please submit nominationsMicrosoft Word by close of business on April 20, 2012 to: Randy Manion, Western Area Power Administration, P.O. Box 281213, Lakewood, CO 80228-8213.

Past winners are Denton Municipal Electric, CPS Energy, Princeton Municipal Light Department, Nebraska Public Power District, Cowlitz and Klickitat PUDs, Sacramento Municipal Utility District, Waverley Light and Power, town of Hull, Fort Collins Utilities, Austin Energy, and Aspen Municipal Electric. More information about past award recipients is available on the Wind Powering America website.

—Julie Jones