Skip to main content

Nominate the Wind Cooperative of the Year for 2011

January 25, 2012

The 2011 Wind Cooperative of the Year Award will honor one electric cooperative for its leadership in wind power. All electric cooperatives that are members of the National Rural Electric Cooperative Association (NRECA) are eligible to apply. Cooperatives can nominate themselves or other cooperatives, and there is no cost to enter. The Wind Cooperative of the Year Award is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Energy's Wind Powering America initiative in partnership with NRECA.

This year marks the eleventh anniversary of the award. The 2011 winner will be recognized at the NRECA TechAdvantage Conference in San Diego, California, the afternoon of March 8, 2012.

Please submit nominationsMicrosoft Word by February 13, 2012 to Randy Manion, Western Area Power Administration, P.O. Box 281213, Lakewood, CO 80228-8213.

Past winners are Minnkota Power Cooperative, Kodiak Electric Association, Wolverine Power Supply Cooperative, Alaska Village Electric Cooperative, Associated Electric Cooperative, Illinois Rural Electric Cooperative, Western Farmers Electric Cooperative, Holy Cross Energy, Basin Electric Power Cooperative, and Great River Energy. More information about past award recipients is available on the Wind Powering America website.

—Julie Jones