Skip to main content

Wind Powering America Team Presents 2011 Awards at All-States Summit

June 7, 2011

One of the highlights of the annual Wind Powering America All-States Summit is the awards presentation recognizing the accomplishments of peers. This year Summit attendees participated in an online survey to nominate individuals for awards. Team members at NREL and DOE compiled and discussed the nominations and presented the following awards on May 26 in Anaheim:

  • Outstanding Wind Working Group Award: Nebraska Wind Working Group, for excellence in wind outreach to a broad stakeholder group and for effectively engaging the utility and agricultural sectors
  • Outstanding Wind Powering America Partner Award: The NEED Project and The KidWind Project, for dedication in partnering with the Wind for Schools Project to champion wind energy education
  • Larry Flowers Award for Outstanding Leadership: Great Lakes Commission, for excellence in developing a new model of regional wind collaboration
  • Outstanding Young Advocate Award: Remy Luerssen of James Madison University, for tireless outreach in the effort to advance wind energy education in Virginia
  • Small Wind Leadership Award: NV Energy, for leadership and dedication to championing the small wind turbine market in Nevada
  • Western Regional Leadership Award: Alaska Wind Working Group, for creative leadership in advancing wind energy in Alaska
  • Midwestern Regional Leadership Award: David Loomis of Illinois State University, for creative leadership in advancing wind energy in the Midwest
  • Eastern Regional Leadership Award: Sustainable Energy Advantage, for bold leadership and commitment to advancing wind energy in the East.

—Julie Jones