Skip to main content

2011 Public Power Wind Award Nominations

February 14, 2011

The 2011 Public Power Wind Award will honor one consumer-owned utility for its leadership in wind power. All utilities that are members of the American Public Power Association (APPA) are eligible to apply. Consumer-owned utility members can nominate their utility or other systems, and there is no cost to enter. The 2011 Public Power Wind Award is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Energy's Wind Powering America initiative in partnership with the APPA.

This year marks the ninth anniversary of the award. Past winners are Princeton Municipal Light Department, Nebraska Public Power District, Cowlitz and Klickitat PUDs, Sacramento Municipal Utility District, Waverley Light and Power, town of Hull, Fort Collins Utilities, Austin Energy, and Aspen Municipal Electric. The 2011 winner will be recognized at the APPA National Conference in Washington, DC, June 17 - 22, 2011. All nominations (MS WORD 63 KB) are due by close of business on April 4, 2011. Contact Randy Manion, Western Area Power Administration; phone: (720) 962-7423.

—Julie Jones