Skip to main content

The Utility Wind Integration Group Announces 2010 Technical Achievement Honorees

April 8, 2010

The Utility Wind Integration Group (UWIG) is pleased to announce that Brian Parsons of the U.S. Department of Energy’s National Renewable Energy Laboratory (NREL), team members for the Eastern Wind Integration and Transmission Study (EWITS), and Western Wind and Solar Integration Study (WWSIS) will receive UWIG’s 2010 Annual Achievement Award. 

UWIG President Henry Durrwachter will present the awards at a reception during the 2010 Spring Technical Workshop and Annual Meeting being held in Portland, Oregon, April 14 – 16. 

The citation for the award to Parsons notes his “sustained leadership in development and management of a national wind integration program in support of electric utility requirements.” 

The citation for the award for EWITS members Dave Corbus of NREL, Matt Schuerger of Energy Systems Consulting Services, and Bob Zavadil and Jack King of EnerNex Corporation highlight the effort’s role in breaking new ground in the largest and most comprehensive analysis of transmission planning and wind integration in the Eastern Interconnection. 

The citation for the award for WWSIS members Debbie Lew of NREL and Dick Piwko, Nick Miller, Gary Jordan, Kara Clark, and Lavelle Freeman of GE Energy highlight this effort’s role as well in breaking new ground in the analysis of integrating wind and solar generation in the Western Interconnection. 

Source: UWIG