Skip to main content

NREL's Kutscher and Jorgensen Honored for Outstanding Performance

April 6, 2010

One principal engineer and one senior scientist in the Concentrating Solar Power Group at the National Renewable Energy Laboratory (NREL) were honored on March 16 with awards for outstanding performance.

Chuck Kutscher, Principal Engineer/Group Manager for NREL's Thermal Systems Group, was honored for his extensive volunteer work in the solar field. Kutscher served as chair of the American Solar Energy Society (ASES) in 2000–2001 and as convener of the Solar 2006 Conference in Denver, which addressed how renewable energy can help solve climate change problems. He has spoken to public utility commissions, universities, schools, and at film festivals.  He serves on the editorial board of Solar Today magazine and is the associate editor of the journal Solar Energy. In addition, Kutscher has volunteered his time as a Unit Scientist for the National Geographic Society Kids Network and as a WNET-TV Solar Energy Mentor.

Kutscher holds three patents and has received numerous other awards, including an R&D 100 Award and the Charles Greeley Abbot Award, ASES’ top honor.

Senior Scientist Gary Jorgensen was recognized by NREL for efforts that helped the laboratory win two R&D 100 awards in 2009 — one for the Ultra-Accelerated Weathering System and the other for the SkyTroughTM Parabolic Trough Solar Concentrator Collector. Jorgensen was co-inventor on both of those technologies. He holds eight patents and is the author of 150 publications, whose topics are spread across multiple programs, including photovoltaics, electrochromic windows, solar heat, and concentrated solar power.

The NREL Staff Awards are presented each year to recognize employees for making exceptional contributions to renewable energy science and technology, achieving NREL's goals, advancing the employee's profession, and serving in the local community.