Skip to main content

Department of Energy Selects Winner of Wind Cooperative of the Year Award

February 25, 2008

The U.S. Department of Energy (DOE) and the National Rural Electric Cooperative Association (NRECA) selected the Alaska Village Electric Cooperative (AVEC) of Anchorage, Alaska, as the winner of the 2007 Wind Cooperative of the Year Award. This annual award recognizes AVEC for leadership, demonstrated success, and innovation in its wind power program. AVEC provides electricity service to 53 small, native villages in rural Alaska and uses wind power to reduce its dependence on diesel power.

AVEC currently has 990 kilowatts (kW) of installed wind-generating capacity in four of the communities it serves. Two of these communities, Toksook Bay and Kasigluk, represent the first field deployment of the Northwind 100/20 wind turbine, a 100-kW, 20-meter rotor diameter turbine specifically designed for deployment in cold and harsh climates. This turbine, designed and developed in conjunction with DOE, received an R&D 100 award in 2000. AVEC wind turbines are producing up to 25% of the Toksook Bay and Kasigluk communities’ annual electricity needs.