Skip to main content

News Release: Lakewood High School Wins Colorado Science Bowl

January 26, 2013

Students from Lakewood High School Team 1 won the Colorado High School Science Bowl today. They will go on to the 23rd National Science Bowl in Washington D.C., Apr. 25-29, where they will compete for the national title against more than 400 students from 70 high schools.

The U.S. Department of Energy (DOE) began the Science Bowl tradition in 1991 as a way to encourage high school students to explore math and science. The Department of Energy's Golden Field Office once again was one of the major sponsors of this year's Colorado Science Bowl, along with DOE’s National Renewable Energy Laboratory.

Teams from across the state competed in the day-long competition at Dakota Ridge High School in Littleton.

In the final round, Lakewood High School Team 1 topped Cheyenne Mountain High School Team 1 of Colorado Springs with a score of 38-16 after correctly answering rapid-fire questions in physics, math, biology, astronomy, chemistry, anthropology and earth sciences.

Cherry Creek High School Team 1 of Greenwood Village rounded out the top finishers to take home the third place trophy.

Other school teams that survived the morning competitions and advanced to the afternoon double-elimination contests were:

• Arapahoe High School Teams 1 and 2 (Centennial)
• Cherokee Trail High School Team 1 (Aurora)
• Dakota Ridge High School Team 1 (Littleton)
• Douglas County High School Team 2 (Castle Rock)
• East High School Team 2 (Denver)
• Highlands Ranch High School Team 1 (Highlands Ranch)
• Jefferson Academy Team 2 (Broomfield)
• Rampart High School Team 1 (Colorado Springs)
• Rangeview High School Teams 1 and 2 (Aurora)
• Smoky Hill High School Team 1 (Aurora)
• South Park High School Team 1 (Fairplay)

The National Science Bowl is celebrating more than 20 years of competition and is the only academic event of its kind that is sponsored by a U.S. government agency. Approximately 15,000 high students from across the country compete for a chance to go to Washington D.C. for the national finals.
Other sponsors include the U.S. Department of Energy's Office of Science; the Alliance for Sustainable Energy, LLC; Jefferson County Public Schools; and Dakota Ridge High School.

NREL is the U.S. Department of Energy's primary national laboratory for renewable energy and energy efficiency research and development. NREL is operated for DOE by the Alliance for Sustainable Energy, LLC.

High-resolution photographs and video of the competition are
available to the media on request.


Visit NREL online at

—David Glickson