Skip to main content

News Release: Fairview High School Wins Colorado Science Bowl

Jan. 29, 2011

Golden, CO., Jan. 29, 2011 – Students from Fairview High School Team 1 won the Colorado High School Science Bowl today. They will go on to the 21st National Science Bowl in Washington D.C. on Apr. 28 – May 2, where they will compete for the national title against more than 450 students from 68 high schools.

The U.S. Department of Energy (DOE) began the Science Bowl tradition in 1991 as a way to encourage high school students to explore math and science. The Department of Energy's Golden Field Office once again was one of the major sponsors of this year's Colorado Science Bowl, along with DOE’s National Renewable Energy Laboratory. 

Teams from across the state competed in the day-long competition at Dakota Ridge High School in Littleton. 

In the final round, Fairview Team 1 topped Cheyenne Mountain High School Team 1 of Colorado Springs with a score of 106-70 after correctly answering rapid-fire questions in physics, math, biology, astronomy, chemistry, anthropology and earth sciences. 

Lakewood High School Team 1 of Lakewood rounded out the top finishers to take home the third place trophy. 

Other school teams that survived the morning competitions and advanced to the afternoon double-elimination contests were:

• Arapahoe High School Team 1 (Centennial)
• Cherokee Trail High School Teams 1 & 2 (Aurora)
• Cherry Creek High School Teams 1 (Greenwood Village)
• Cheyenne Mountain High School Team 1 (Colorado Springs)
• Coronado High School (Colorado Springs)
• Dakota Ridge High School Team 2 (Littleton)
• D'Evelyn Senior High School Team 1 (Denver)
• Douglas Country High School (Castle Rock)
• Fairview High School Team 1 (Boulder)
• Lakewood High School Team 1 (Lakewood)
• Peak to Peak Charter School (Lafayette)
• Pueblo Centennial High School Team 1(Pueblo)
• Rock Canyon High School (Highlands Ranch)
• Smoky Hill High School Teams 1 & 2 (Aurora)

The National Science Bowl is celebrating 20 years of competition and is the only academic event of its kind that is sponsored by a U.S. government agency. Approximately 15,000 high school students from across the country compete for a chance to go to Washington D.C. for the national finals.

Other sponsors include the U.S. Department of Energy's Office of Science; the Alliance for Sustainable Energy, LLC; Jefferson County Public Schools; and Dakota Ridge High School.

NREL is the U.S. Department of Energy's primary national laboratory for renewable energy and energy efficiency research and development. NREL is operated for DOE by the Alliance for Sustainable Energy, LLC.

High-resolution photographs and b-roll footage of the competition are
available on request.


Visit NREL online at 


—David Glickson