Skip to main content

News Release: NREL Picks 20 Leaders for National Executive Education Program

June 1, 2010

The U.S. Department of Energy’s National Renewable Energy Laboratory (NREL) has selected 20 national leaders to participate in its 2010 Executive Energy Leadership program (Energy Execs), a premier leadership program focused on educating business, community and government leaders about clean energy solutions.

The 5-month program gives executive decision-makers throughout the United States an in-depth look at renewable energy and energy efficiency technologies. Briefings by NREL technology experts, research laboratory tours and visits to field applications are part of the classroom experience. 

“It’s imperative that decision-makers work at the local level to demonstrate leadership for the nation as we address the clean energy economy.  NREL is dedicated to preparing national leaders to serve as change-agents, leading the clean energy future,” said NREL Director Dr. Dan E. Arvizu.

At the conclusion of the program, participants present a viable project on a clean energy application.

This is the fourth year for the Energy Execs program and the launch of national participation.  Since its inception, more than 60 Colorado representatives of industry, local government and non-profit organizations completed the class. For more information, visit

NREL is the U.S. Department of Energy's primary national laboratory for renewable energy and energy efficiency research and development. NREL is operated for DOE by The Alliance for Sustainable Energy, LLC.

2010 Executive Energy Leadership Program Participants

Cori Andreatta


Thomas Binet

Colorado Office of Economic Development & International Trade

Li Han Chan

Nevada Institute for Renewable Energy Commercialization

Dave Clute

Cisco Systems, Inc.

Jason Coccia

Booz Allen Hamilton, Inc.

Yugoslav Cuculiza

Edicosa SA

Ayla Dickey

Apollo Group/University of Phoenix

Brian Good

Denver Water

David Hornbacher

City of Aspen

Nancy Hovde

Delta Montrose Electric Association

David Johnston

Dairy Farmers of America, Inc.

Zane Kessler

Office of U.S. Senator Michael Bennet

iLona Major

City of Lone Tree

Scott Miller

Ohio University’s Voinovich School of Leadership & Public Affairs

Christine Murphy

San Diego County Regional Airport Authority

John Osborne

CB Richard Ellis

Don Scarsella

Owens Corning

Sanjeeva Senanayake

HSH Nordbank, AG

Bill Skowronski

Renewable World Foundation

Lt. Col. Brian Stevens

Texas Army National Guard


—George Douglas