Skip to main content

News Release: NREL Picks 19 Community Leaders for Leadership Program

April 16, 2008

The U.S. Department of Energy’s National Renewable Energy Laboratory (NREL) has selected 19 Colorado community leaders to participate in its 2008 Executive Energy Leadership program (Energy Execs), the state’s only leadership program focused on educating business and government leaders about clean energy solutions that can boost the local economy.

The 6-month long leadership program gives Colorado community leaders an in-depth look at renewable utility applications, biofuels and transportation, energy efficient building applications and future energy markets.  Briefings by technology experts, research laboratory tours and visits to field applications are part of the monthly classroom experience.

“It’s important for federal laboratories, industry and communities to work closely together on moving clean energy technologies from innovation to commercialization,” said NREL Director Dan Arvizu.  “Together, we can work toward a more viable energy future that supports a healthy local economy.”

At the conclusion of the program, participants are asked to present a viable project on a renewable energy or energy efficiency application that could be implemented by their organization.

This is the second year for the Energy Execs program.  In 2007, 12 representatives of industry, local government and non-profit organizations completed the class. 

NREL is the U.S. Department of Energy's primary national laboratory for renewable energy and energy efficiency research and development. NREL is operated for DOE by Midwest Research Institute and Battelle.

National Renewable Energy Laboratory - 2008 Energy Execs Participants

Tamra Allen

Assistant Manager, Town of Pagosa Springs

Thomas Baker

Town Manager, Town of Carbondale

Mark Buschenfeldt

Project Manager, Colorado Office of Economic Development and International Trade

Jack Crawford

Director, Denver Finance Lab

Darryl Edwards

Member Services Manager, Mountain View Electric Association

Angie Fyfe

Greening Government Program Manager, Governor’s Energy Office

Hans Kallam

Director, Colorado Division of Emergency Management

Julie Klein

Director of Environmental Affairs, Vail Resorts, Inc.

Patricia Kurgan

President, Astro Logistics, Inc.

Jason McEldowney

City Council, Commerce City

Jocelyn Mills

Planner, Town of Frisco

Inta Morris

Assist. Director for External and Interdepartmental Affairs, Colorado Dept. of Higher Education

Scott Morrissey

Greenprint Denver Program Manager, Denver Mayor’s Office

Elling Myklebust

Division Energy Coordinator, Colorado State Parks

Geniphyr Ponce-Pore

Larimer County Business and Enterprise, Larimer County Workforce Center

Katherine Portner

Neighborhood Services Manager, City of Grand Junction

Lynn Sargent

Business Development Representative, Denver Office of Economic Development

James Stavast

Facilities Manager, City of Grand Junction

Patricia Vice

Executive Director, Lincoln County Economic Development Corp.

—Janice Rooney