Skip to main content

News Release: Community Leaders to Address Energy Solutions Through Leadership Program

May 16, 2007

Thirteen local community leaders were chosen to join the U.S. Department of Energy's (DOE) National Renewable Energy Laboratory’s (NREL) Executive Energy Leadership program.

Energy Execs will participate in monthly educational sessions covering topics such as solar technology, wind energy and transportation of the future. Sessions will include an in depth look at future markets and analysis tools for renewable energy and energy efficiency applications. Participants will receive renewable energy and energy efficiency briefings by technology experts, research laboratory tours and visits to field applications.

“We applaud these community leaders for the important role they play in helping with the successful immersion of renewable energy and energy efficiency technologies in the marketplace,” said Director Dan Arvizu.

At the conclusion of the six-month program, participants will be equipped to prepare a case study for renewable energy and energy efficiency applications appropriate for their organizations.

The Energy Execs first meeting is May 18 at NREL’s Visitors Center in Golden, Colo.

NREL is the U.S. Department of Energy's primary national laboratory for renewable energy and energy efficiency research and development. NREL is operated for DOE by Midwest Research Institute and Battelle.

Editors please note: A complete list of Energy Execs members follows.

National Renewable Energy Laboratory

Energy Execs Participants

Jeanette Alberg

Area Representative for U.S. Senator Wayne Allard

Charles J. Baroch

City of Golden Mayor

Chris Berry

City of Lafayette Mayor

Luis A. Colón

Department of General Services Manager City and County of Denver

Don Feldhaus

City of Greeley Mayor Pro Tem

Don Fitzmartin

Senior Vice President CB Richard Ellis

Dan Igoe

PURE Brand Communications Managing Partner

Mary W. Jeffreys

Metro Denver WIRED Initiative Energy Industry Coordinator

Dave Noel

Vice President and Operations/Chief Technology Officer for the Denver Museum of Nature & Science

Kathie Novak

City of Northglenn Mayor

James Schrack

City of Aurora Environmental Program Supervisor

Andrew R. Torbin

ProLogis Sustainability Analyst

Constance Volz

Premier Parking, LLC President

—Sarah Barba