Skip to main content

News Release: Appointments Announced for NREL Advisory Group

Jan. 29, 2007

Thirteen prominent national leaders have accepted invitations to join the National Advisory Council for the U.S. Department of Energy's National Renewable Energy Laboratory (NREL).

The National Advisory Council provides external and independent counsel to NREL Director Dan Arvizu on the Laboratory’s strategic direction. The council also monitors broader trends and anticipates changes that may affect NREL's mission. Council members are preeminent individuals in the fields of science, technology, industry, academia and public service.

“I am delighted to have these distinguished experts join us as advisers,” said Arvizu.  “Their invaluable expertise will play a significant role in helping NREL meet our nation’s energy challenges by providing external and independent advice and counsel to me and my executive management team.”

The National Advisory Council will meet Jan. 30 – 31 at NREL in Golden, Colo.

NREL is the U.S. Department of Energy's primary national laboratory for renewable energy and energy efficiency research and development. NREL is operated for DOE by Midwest Research Institute and Battelle.

Editors please note: A complete list of National Advisory Council members follows.

Visit NREL online at


National Renewable Energy Laboratory National Advisory Council

Larry Penley

President of Colorado State University (CSU) and Chancellor of the CSU system

George Peterson

Chancellor of the University of Colorado at Boulder

Myles W. Scoggins

President of the Colorado School of Mines

James Sweeney

Professor in the Department of Management Science and Engineering at Stanford University

Jefferson Tester

H. P. Meissner Professor of Chemical Engineering at Massachusetts Institute of Technology

John H. Gibbons

Former Science Advisor to President Clinton

Hank Habicht

Vice Chairman of the Global Environment & Technology Foundation

Jack D. Hidary

Founder of the Jack D. Hidary Foundation

Richard C. Kelly

Chairman of the Board, President and Chief Executive Officer of Xcel Energy

Don Paul

Vice President and Chief Technology Officer of Chevron Corporation

David J. Prend

Managing General Partner of RockPort Capital Partners

Susan Tierney

Managing Principal with The Analysis Group and former DOE Assistant Secretary for Policy and International

Victoria Tschinkel

Former State Director of the Florida Chapter of The Nature Conservancy


—Sarah Barba