Skip to main content

News Release: NREL Employees Honored at Annual Awards Luncheon

April 18, 2006

Golden, Colo. &#38mdash; During the past 25 years at the U.S. Department of Energy's National Renewable Energy Laboratory (NREL), Bob Noun and Walter Short have shaped the way renewable energy and energy efficient technologies are seen and understood by the public, elected officials and other stakeholders.

With a realistic and technically sound vision of the potential of renewable energy, Noun has built strategic national and international relationships key to NREL's success. Short has played a large part in the way renewable energy is represented in energy models and how the results of these models are interpreted. Both employees were recently honored at an annual staff awards luncheon for their hard work, dedication and commitment to excellence.

The 26th Annual Staff Awards Luncheon was sponsored by NREL's managing partners, Midwest Research Institute and Battelle. NREL's Staff Awards Program recognizes staff for making exceptional contributions to renewable energy science and technology, achieving NREL's goals, advancing their professions, and serving in their local community and at NREL. The awardees receive a monetary award, a framed certificate and a sculpture by local artist John Haertling.

Noun, NREL's deputy associate director, received the 2006 Francis Van Morris Award for his years of dedication to building NREL's research capabilities, increasing its stature and for promoting renewable energy technologies around the world.

The Van Morriss Award was established by MRI in memory of Dr. Francis Van Morriss, a former MRI and NREL employee. It is awarded annually to a NREL technical or administrative staff member who is perceived as a leader in the growth and development of MRI, Battelle and NREL through major improvements in productivity, capability or efficiency.

MRI also established the Hubbard Award, which is given to a member of the research staff who has made sustained, clearly defined, high-level research contributions and who has shown true leadership and initiative in furthering the image of NREL as the nation's foremost renewable energy laboratory. The Hubbard Award honors NREL's former director, Dr. H.M. Hubbard.

Short, principal policy analyst and group manager with NREL's Energy Analysis Office, received the Hubbard Award for his exceptional leadership and for his significant research contributions to improving renewable energy modeling for market, economic and policy analyses.

In addition to the Van Morris and Hubbard Awards, 14 employees received Outstanding Performance Awards: James Bosch, Billie Christen, Vahab Hassani, Michelle Kubik, Se-Hee Lee, Linda Lung, Judy Netter, Kevin O'Connor, Dave Renne, Amie Sluiter, Margo Stenzel, Karen Thomas, Michelle Young and Min Zhang.

Thirteen employees received a Team Award for their work in establishing NREL as a world-recognized leader and International Standards Organization-accredited laboratory in cell and module measurements. Team members included Allan Anderberg, Afshin Andreas, Keith Emery, Henry Higaki, Beverly Kay, James Kiehl, Charles Mack, Tom Moriarity, Daryl Myers, Larry Ottoson, Ibrahim Reda, Steve Rummel and Marilyn Whiteside.

NREL is the U.S. Department of Energy's (DOE) primary national laboratory for renewable energy and energy efficiency research and development. NREL is operated for DOE by Midwest Research Institute and Battelle.

—Sarah Barba