News Release: High School Students Gear Up for Battle of the Brains

Jan. 30, 2004

Golden, Colo. — The Andes Mountains of South America were formed at what kind of margin? How many prime numbers are there between 30 and 60?

High school students from across Colorado will face such questions as they test their mental agility in the U.S. Department of Energy's (DOE) Colorado Science Bowl on Feb. 7 at the Colorado School of Mines in Golden.

Forty teams will compete in this rapid-fire question-and-answer tournament, which focuses on physics, math, biology, astronomy, chemistry, computers and the earth sciences. Each team is composed of four students, one alternate and a teacher who serves as adviser and coach. The competition is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Energy's (DOE) Golden Field Office and National Renewable Energy Laboratory, Midwest Research Institute and Battelle.

The winning team will earn the opportunity to compete in the National Science Bowl® in the Washington, D.C., area April 29 - May 3, where the Colorado students will go up against winning teams from regional competitions across the nation. Students from Smoky Hill High School placed first in last year's regional competition.

DOE began the National Science Bowl® 14 years ago to help stimulate interest in science and math. The competition has evolved into one of the Energy Department's premier education programs.

The Colorado Science Bowl will run from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. in Alderson Hall (1613 Illinois St.) at the Colorado School of Mines.

Editors note: The answers to the questions are Convergent Plate and seven. A list of participating schools follows.

Colorado Science Bowl teams

  • Air Academy High School
  • Christian Fellowship School
  • Coronado High School (two teams)
  • Douglas County High School (three teams)
  • Eaglecrest High School (two teams)
  • Faith Christian High School (two teams)
  • Jefferson Academy High School
  • John F. Kennedy High School (three teams)
  • Lakewood High School (three teams)
  • Legacy High School (three teams)
  • Northglenn High School
  • Palmer High School (three teams)
  • Pine Creek High School (two teams)
  • Pueblo Centennial High School (two teams)
  • Pueblo South High School
  • Rangeview High School (two teams)
  • Smoky Hill High School (three teams)
  • Standley Lake High School (two teams)
  • Thunder Ridge High School (two teams)
  • Wasson High School

—Sarah Barba