Skip to main content

News Release: High School Students Gear Up for Battle of the Brains

Feb. 3, 2003

Golden, CO. — In what part of the chloroplast is carbon fixed during the Calvin cycle? Yellow fever is transmitted by what genus of mosquito? High school students from across Colorado will face such questions as they test their mental agility in the U.S. Department of Energy's (DOE) Colorado Science Bowl on Feb. 8 at the Colorado School of Mines in Golden.

Thirty-nine teams from across the state will compete in this rapid-fire question-and-answer tournament, which focuses on physics, math, biology, astronomy, chemistry, computers and the earth sciences. Each team is composed of four students, one alternate and a teacher who serves as adviser and coach. The competition is sponsored by DOE's National Renewable Energy Laboratory and Golden Field Office, Midwest Research Institute, Battelle, Bechtel and Texas Instruments.

The winning team will earn the opportunity to compete in the National Science Bowl in the Washington, D.C., area May 1 - 5, where the Colorado students will go up against winning teams from regional competitions across the nation. Students from Smoky Hill High School placed first in last year's regional competition and placed 18th in the National Science Bowl.

DOE began the National Science Bowl 13 years ago to help stimulate interest in science and math. The competition has evolved into one of the Energy Department's premier education programs.

The Colorado Science Bowl will run from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. in Alderson Hall (1613 Illinois St.) at the Colorado School of Mines.

Editors note: The answers to the questions are Stroma and Culex. A list of participating schools follows.

Colorado Science Bowl teams

Air Academy High School
Alameda High School (two teams)
Arvada High School
Christian Fellowship School (two teams)
Coronado High School (two teams)
Doherty High School
Douglas County High School (two teams)
Eaglecrest High School (two teams)
Faith Christian High School
George Washington High School
Gunnison High School
Highlands Ranch High School (two teams)
Hotchkiss High School (two teams)
Jefferson Academy High School
John F. Kennedy High School (two teams)
Lakewood High School (two teams)
Northglenn High School (two teams)
Palmer High School
Pueblo Centennial High School (two teams)
Pueblo South High School
Smoky Hill High School (two teams)
Standley Lake High School (two teams)
Thunder Ridge High School (two teams)
Wasson High School (two teams)

—Sarah Barba