[an error occurred while processing this directive]

High School Teams from Across Colorado Compete in Science Bowl

For more information contact:
e:mail: Public Affairs

Golden, Colo., Feb. 23, 1998 — On the surfaces of which three planets would you weigh more than you do on Earth? How many molecules are in two moles of sulfur trioxide? High school students from across Colorado will face such questions as they test their mental agility in the 1998 Colorado Science Bowl Feb. 28 at Metropolitan State College in Denver.

More than 40 teams will compete in this rapid fire question and answer tournament which focuses on physics, math, biology, astronomy, chemistry, computers and the earth sciences. The teams are composed of four students, one alternate and a teacher who serves as adviser and coach.

The winning team will earn the opportunity to compete in the U.S. Department of Energy's (DOE) National Science Bowl in Chevy Chase, Md., in May. Teams from Aurora's Eagle Crest and Smoky Hill high schools placed first and second in last year's regional competition.

DOE began the National Science Bowl eight years ago to help stimulate interest in science and math. The competition has evolved into one of its premier educational programs.

The regional Science Bowl is sponsored by DOE, DOE's National Renewable Energy Laboratory, DOE's Golden Field Office, DOE's Rocky Flats Field Office, the Midwest Research Institute, Kaiser Hill and Metropolitan State College.

The Colorado Science Bowl will run 8:30 a.m. - 3:30 p.m. in the North Classroom building at Metropolitan State College on the Auraria Campus (at Speer and Larimer).

Editors Note: See below for a list of participating schools.


Colorado Science Bowl Teams
Feb. 28, 1998

Metro Denver Area

Arapahoe High School - Littleton
Cherry Creek High School - Englewood
Christian Fellowship - Lakewood
Douglas County High School - Castle Rock
Eaglecrest High School - Aurora
George Washington High School - Denver
Golden High School - Golden
Highlands Ranch High School - Highlands Ranch
Overland High School - Aurora
Pomona High School - Arvada
Smoky Hill High School - Aurora


Boulder High School
Fairview High School

Colorado Springs

Air Academy High School
Mitchell High School
Palmer High School
Thomas B. Doherty High School
Widefield High School


Pueblo Centennial
Pueblo Central High School
Pueblo South High School

Other Areas

Center High School - Center
Flagler High School - Flagler
Hoehne High School - Hoehne
John Mall High School - Walsenberg
Mountain Valley School - Saguache
Woodland Park High School - Woodland Park
Woodlin High School - Woodrow

Note: Schools in italic have two teams participating.

Follow NREL