[an error occurred while processing this directive]

Students from Longmont�s Westview Triumph in Solar Car Race

For more information contact:
George Douglas (303) 275-4096
cell phone: (303) 880-2913

Golden, Colo., May 17, 1997 -- Students from Longmont's Westview Middle School built the fastest solar car and won the 1997 Junior Solar Sprint at the U.S. Department of Energy's (DOE) National Renewable Energy Laboratory (NREL) today. A team from Aragon Middle School in Fountain won top honors for design.

Forty-five teams from across the state competed in the 20-meter race. Awards were given to students from Westview in Longmont, Maplewood Middle School in Greeley, Fountain�s Aragon, Challenge School in Denver and Huron Middle School in Northglenn for the five fastest cars. Five design awards based on technology, craftsmanship and innovation were given to teams from Aragon in Fountain, Cherrelyn Middle School in Englewood, Deer Creek Middle School in Littleton, Eagle County Charter Academy in Edwards and the Choice Program at Nevin Platt in Boulder.

NREL supplied each team with a silicon solar cell, which converts light into electricity, and a motor. Using any other materials, competitors designed and built a solar-powered vehicle no larger than 16 inches wide, 24 inches long and 12 inches high. The sun�s light is the only energy source that may be used to power the vehicle.

DOE began the Junior Solar Sprint seven years ago to educate young people about renewable energy and the environment.