Skip to main content

National Solar Thermal Power Facility

Status Date: February 13, 2014
Project Overview
Project Name: National Solar Thermal Power Facility
Country: India
Location: Gurgaon
Owner(s): IIT Bombay (100%)
Technology: Parabolic trough
Turbine Capacity: Net: 1.0 MW Gross: 1.0 MW
Status: Operational
Start Year: 2012

Do you have more information, corrections, or comments?


Technology: Parabolic trough
Status: Operational
Country: India
City: Gurgaon
Lat/Long Location: 28°25′ 39.0″ North, 77°9′ 33.0″ East
Contact(s): Webmaster Solar
Break Ground: April 2011
Start Production: October 2012
Project Type: Demonstration


Developer(s): IIT Bombay
Owner(s) (%): IIT Bombay (100%)
EPC Contractor: Abengoa Solar
Operator(s): IIT Bombay
Generation Offtaker(s): National grid

Plant Configuration

Solar Field

Solar-Field Aperture Area: 8,000 m²
# of Solar Collector Assemblies (SCAs): 12
# of Loops: 3
# of SCAs per Loop: 4
SCA Length: 120 m
# of Modules per SCA: 10
SCA Manufacturer: Shrijee Structures
Mirror Manufacturer: Rioglass
# of Heat Collector Elements (HCEs): 360
HCE Manufacturer (Model): Schott (PTR-70)
Heat-Transfer Fluid Type: Therminol VP-1
HTF Company: Solutia
Solar-Field Inlet Temp: 293°C
Solar-Field Outlet Temp: 393°C

Power Block

Turbine Capacity (Gross): 1.0 MW
Turbine Capacity (Net): 1.0 MW
Output Type: Steam Rankine

Thermal Storage

Storage Type: None