Skip to main content
Bookmark and Share Printable Version

High School Students Compete to Represent Colorado at the 23rd Annual National Science Bowl™ in Washington, DC

Wednesday, January 23, 2013

Forty-two teams of Colorado high school students will answer on-the-spot science and math questions at the 23rd Colorado Science Bowl on Saturday, Jan. 26, at Dakota Ridge High School.

The U.S. Department of Energy (DOE) began the science bowl tradition in 1991 as a way to encourage high school students to explore math and science in a fun academic competition. The Department of Energy’s (DOE) Golden Service Center is again one of the major sponsors of this year’s Colorado Science Bowl.

“The Science Bowl is the nation’s premier science and math competition for high school students,” said DOE Golden Service Center Manager Carol Battershell. “Participants are among our nation’s best and brightest, and their ability to showcase their skills inspires young people to become the next generation of innovative engineers and scientists we need to keep our nation competitive in the global economy.”

Students will answer rapid-fire questions with tournament rounds lasting only 16 minutes. Questions cover physics, mathematics, biology, chemistry, earth and space science, energy and general sciences, and are pegged at the college freshman level. Each team is made up of four students, one alternate and a coach.

The winning team advances to the DOE National Science Bowl in Washington, D.C. Apr. 25-29, where more than 400 students from 70 high schools will compete for the national title.

This year’s Colorado Science Bowl teams include:

  • Arapahoe High School (Centennial) – two teams
  • Cherokee Trail High School (Aurora) – two teams
  • Cherry Creek High School (Greenwood Village) 
  • Cheyenne Mountain High School (Colorado Springs) – two teams
  • Coronado High School (Colorado Springs)
  • Dakota Ridge High School (Littleton) – two teams
  • Dolores Huerta Preparatory High (Pueblo) – two teams
  • Douglas County High School (Castle Rock) – two teams 
  • Early College of Arvada (Arvada) – two teams
  • East High School (Denver) – Two teams
  • Ellicott High School (Ellicott)
  • Evergreen High School (Evergreen)
  • Fountain-Ft. Carson High School (Fountain)
  • Green Mountain High School (Lakewood)
  • Highlands Ranch High School (Highlands Ranch) – two teams
  • Jefferson Academy (Broomfield) – two teams
  • Lakewood High School (Lakewood) – two teams
  • Mapleton Expeditionary School of the Arts (Thornton)
  • Pueblo Centennial High School (Pueblo)– two teams
  • Ralston Valley High School (Arvada)
  • Rampart High School (Colorado Springs)
  • Rangeview High School (Aurora) – two teams
  • Smoky Hill High School (Aurora) 
  • South Park High School (Fairplay)
  • Standley Lake High School (Westminster) – two teams
  • STEM High and Academy (Highlands Ranch)
  • Thunder Ridge High School (Highlands Ranch) 
  • Valor Christian High School (Highlands Ranch) – two teams

The Colorado Science Bowl runs from 9 a.m. to 5:30 p.m. on Jan. 26 at Dakota Ridge High School, 13399 W. Coal Mine Ave., Littleton. Sponsors for the event are the U.S. Department of Energy Golden Service Center; DOE's National Renewable Energy Laboratory (NREL); Alliance for Sustainable Energy, LLC; Jefferson County Public Schools; Dakota Ridge High School; and the U.S. Department of Energy Office of Science.

NREL is the U.S. Department of Energy's primary national laboratory for renewable energy and energy efficiency research and development. NREL is operated for DOE by the Alliance for Sustainable Energy, LLC.


                                        Visit NREL online at

For further information contact NREL Public Relations at 303-275-4090.
Subscribe to receive new NREL releases by e-mail. Subscribe to RSS feed. NREL News Releases RSS Feed (XML) About RSS.