Skip navigation to main content.
NREL - National Renewable Energy Laboratory
About NRELEnergy AnalysisScience and TechnologyTechnology TransferTechnology DeploymentEnergy Systems Integration

Awards and Honors

NREL Technologies Available for Licensing

In addition to receiving awards, NREL researchers have developed patented, state-of-the-art technologies that are available for licensing. Learn more about our licensing agreement process and our technologies available for licensing.

NREL scientists have received awards and honors from various organizations for their technical innovations in hydrogen and fuel cell technologies.

American Association for the Advancement of Science

Michael Seibert was elected as a fellow by the American Association for the Advancement of Science in 2000.

American Chemical Society

Maria Ghirardi and Michael Seibert received the Glenn Award from the Fuels and Chemicals Division of the American Chemical Society in 2000.

Electrochemical Society

Bryan Pivovar received the Charles W. Tobias Young Investigator Award from the Electrochemical Society in 2012 in honor of his work advancing polymer electrolyte fuels and liquid-fed fuel cell systems.

Japan Society of Coordination Chemistry

In 2012, the Japan Society of Coordination Chemistry awarded John Turner with a Lectureship Award for his pioneering work in the fields of solar hydrogen and fuel cells and for being an international spokesman for hydrogen production via photoelectrochemical water splitting.

National Biodiesel Board

Bob McCormick received an Innovation Award from the National Biodiesel Board in 2006.

National Renewable Energy Laboratory

Maria Ghirardi, John Turner, and Michael Seibert were selected as NREL research fellows in 2013, 2008, and 2003, respectively.

U.S. Department of Energy

At the 2013 Annual Merit Review, four NREL staff received awards in recognition of their outstanding achievements. Chris Ainscough and Kevin Harrison were awarded for their research and analysis related to integrating wind power and hydrogen production. Philip Parilla was awarded for his contributions to standardizing measurement of the hydrogen storage properties of materials. Leslie Eudy was awarded for her long-term contributions to the program’s technology validation efforts.

At the 2012 Annual Merit Review, Matthew Thornton received a team award in conjunction with two industry partners for their contributions to the development of an integrated modeling framework for the Hydrogen Storage Engineering Center of Excellence and Michael Ulsh received an award for his efforts to reduce the cost of manufacturing polymer electrolyte membrane fuel cells.

At the 2011 Annual Merit Review, George Sverdrup was awarded for his contributions to the Department of Energy's Fuel Cell Technologies (FCT) Office and Marc Melaina received a team award for his technical and programmatic support of the FCT Office and his leadership of the NREL Analysis Team.

At the 2010 Annual Merit Review, Michael Penev and Darlene Steward received team awards for developing the Fuel Cell Power Model and Lin Simpson accepted a team award on behalf of the DOE Hydrogen Sorption Center of Excellence for advancing the state-of-the-art in hydrogen storage materials. Two NREL consultants also received awards. Douglas Wheeler was recognized for his contributions to DOE's fuel cell manufacturing efforts and John Christensen was awarded for his work on the market transformation activity.

John Turner received the Outstanding Mentor Award from the DOE Office of Science in 2009, 2008, 2007, and 2005. Todd Deutsch also received this award in 2009, 2008, and 2007.

Maria Ghirardi received the President's Early Career Scientist and Engineering Award from the DOE Office of Power Technologies in 2000.