Thin-Film Photovoltaics: Task Group 8

Task Group 8 is focused on durability issues specific to thin-film PV modules.

Thin-film PV modules exhibit some of the same failure modes that are being studied by Task Groups 1–7, but other failure mechanisms are specific to thin-film modules.

Progress Update

A kick-off meeting was held March 1, 2013. Thin-film experts were assigned to Groups 2, 3 and 7. Subcommittees for thin films were established for the following:

In general, Task Group 8 has agreed that the tests that are being developed for silicon modules can be applied to thin-film modules; representatives of the thin-film technologies were identified to join the discussions of the task groups discussing the silicon-module tests in order to ensure that these will be relevant to thin-film products as well. Therefore, a separate test sequence is not being discussed, but discussions are ongoing to better understand failure modes that are unique to the thin-film modules.

Task Leaders

Neelkanth Dhere — Florida Solar Energy Center
Masayoshi Takani — Solar Frontier, representing Japan
Veronica Bermudez — Nexcis
Scott McWilliams — Sematech, subcommittee on monolithic interconnection
Raji Sundaramoorthy — PVMC, subcommittee on Semiconductor Junction Degradation
Eric Schneller — Florida Solar Energy Center, subcommittee on micro-delamination
Narendra Shiradkar — Florida Solar Energy Center, subcommittee on shading
Yaohua Mai — Hebei University, representing China
Jingong Pan — CNBM (Chengdu) Optoelectronic Materials Co.

Hosted by AIST logo NREL logo PVTEC logo

Supporting Organizations

United States Department of Energy (DOE)
European Commission DG JRC

Advisory Board