Skip navigation to main content.
NREL - National Renewable Energy Laboratory
About NRELEnergy AnalysisScience and TechnologyTechnology TransferTechnology DeploymentEnergy Systems Integration

Residential Buildings Research Staff

Members of the Residential Buildings research staff have backgrounds in architectural, civil, electrical, environmental, and mechanical engineering, as well as environmental design and physics.

Support Staff

Photo of Ren Anderson

Ren Anderson, Ph.D., Manager, Residential Research Group

ren.anderson@nrel.gov

Research Focus:

Evaluating the whole building benefits of emerging building energy innovations

Specializes in:

Turbulent fluid flow; natural convection heat transfer; ventilation; residential building design

Back to Top

Photo of Dennis Barley

Dennis Barley, Ph.D., Senior Engineer

dennis.barley@nrel.gov

Research Focus:

Analysis methods: break-even cost of emerging technologies in integrated systems, thermostat settings, and take-back effect; BEopt model development: perimeter conductance, insulated slabs, window attachments; field testing: room-to-room distribution of outside air

Specializes in:

Energy use in buildings; original analysis methods; field test protocols; laboratory testing; electrical systems in buildings

Back to Top

Photo of Chuck Booten

Chuck Booten, Ph.D., Senior Engineer

chuck.booten@nrel.gov

Research Focus:

Heat transfer modeling; DOE Building America research coordination; Better Buildings Neighborhood Program technical support

Specializes in:

Experimental heat transfer and fluid mechanics; project management

Back to Top

Photo of Jay Burch

Jay Burch, Ph.D., Senior Scientist

jay.burch@nrel.gov

Research Focus:

Liquid-desiccant-based solar thermal systems and air conditioning components; water heater modeling and testing; low-cost polymer solar water heaters

Specializes in:

Modeling of thermal systems and buildings; reconciliation of data with models

Back to Top

Photo of Sean Casey

Sean Casey, M.S., Engineer

sean.casey@nrel.gov

Research Focus:

National Residential Efficiency Measures Database; Field Data Repository

Specializes in:

Inverse modeling and building energy simulation

Back to Top

Photo of Craig Christensen

Craig Christensen, M.S., Senior Engineer

craig.christensen@nrel.gov

Research Focus:

BEopt development; analysis for new and existing residential buildings; modeling accuracy

Specializes in:

Analysis tool development; building energy simulation and optimization; solar analysis

Back to Top

Photo of Dane Christensen

Dane Christensen, Ph.D., Senior Engineer

dane.christensen@nrel.gov

Research Focus:

Equipment, envelope, and system performance in laboratory and field settings; humidity control; retrofit evaluations; automated home energy management; utility and industry collaborations and pilot projects

Specializes in:

Test and measurement; laboratory facilities; controls, diagnostics; component and system performance

Back to Top

Photo of Lieko Earle

Lieko Earle, Ph.D., Senior Engineer

lieko.earle@nrel.gov

Research Focus:

Lead on Building America field testing program; laboratory and field-based evaluations of Automated Home Energy Management (AHEM) systems; Non-Intrusive Load Monitoring (NILM) techniques; retrofit field studies

Specializes in:

Field instrumentation and experiment design; advanced monitoring; sensors and controls for building energy management

Back to Top

Photo of Cheryn Engebrecht

Cheryn Engebrecht, LEED AP, M.S., Engineer

cheryn.engebrecht@nrel.gov

Research Focus:

DOE Building America Program research coordination; residential construction benchmark development

Specializes in:

Project management, outreach development, experimental design, and data analysis

Back to Top

Photo of Mike Gestwick

Mike Gestwick, M.E.Des, Senior Engineer

michael.gestwick@nrel.gov

Research Focus:

DOE Building America Program research coordination; whole building analysis and field test support

Specializes in:

Project management; energy modeling and analysis

Back to Top

Photo of Mike Heaney

Mike Heaney, Ph.D., Research Analyst

michael.heaney@nrel.gov

Research Focus:

Statistical analysis of field data repository (FDR) for software accuracy; analysis of data collected from ongoing field tests to quantify retrofit benefits and study how energy use varies with occupant behavior; analysis of variability in renewable energy power sources for transmission grid studies

Specializes in:

Advanced statistical methods for multivariate data; statistical experimental design; large data sets; R program language

Back to Top

Photo of Scott Horowitz

Scott Horowitz, M.S., Senior Engineer

scott.horowitz@nrel.gov

Research Focus:

BEopt development; National Residential Efficiency Measures Database; Building America house simulation protocols

Specializes in:

Optimization; building energy modeling; retrofit analysis

Back to Top

Photo of Kate Hudon

Kate Hudon, M.S., Engineer

kate.hudon@nrel.gov

Research Focus:

Laboratory analysis and component modeling of residential heat pump water heaters for use in whole-house energy simulations; analysis and technical support for low-cost solar water heating research and development

Specializes in:

Systems monitoring and component modeling

Back to Top

Photo of Xin Jin

Xin Jin, Ph.D., Postdoctoral Researcher

xin.jin@nrel.gov

Research Focus:

Automated home energy management, non-intrusive load monitoring, energy modeling and analysis

Specializes in:

Modeling and control of dynamic systems, machine learning algorithm development, sensors and control for building energy management

Back to Top

Photo of Noel Merket

Noel Merket, M.S., Engineer

noel.merket@nrel.gov

Research Focus:

National Residential Efficiency Measures Database; Field Data Repository; Building Energy Optimization software development

Specializes in:

Mechanical engineering; fluid-thermal sciences; computational analysis

Back to Top

Photo of Tim Merrigan

Tim Merrigan, M.S., Senior Project Leader

tim.merrigan@nrel.gov

Research Focus:

Solar water heating technology development; PV/thermal system development and demonstration; integrated solar heating and cooling systems

Specializes in:

Solar heating and cooling; HVAC system integration

Back to Top

Photo of Ben Polly

Ben Polly, M.S., Senior Engineer

ben.polly@nrel.gov

Research Focus:

BEopt retrofit analysis; software accuracy assessment and improvement

Specializes in:

Whole building energy simulation; software validation

Back to Top

Photo of David Roberts

David Roberts, P.E., M.S., Senior Engineer

david.roberts@nrel.gov

Research Focus:

National Residential Efficiency Measures Database; Building America Field Data Repository

Specializes in:

Simulation; building science; database development; software development

Back to Top

Photo of Joseph Robertson

Joseph Robertson, M.S., Engineer

joseph.robertson@nrel.gov

Research Focus:

Field Data Repository, automated building model calibration

Specializes in:

Building energy simulation, modeling and data analysis, mathematical optimization

Back to Top

Photo of Stacey Rothgeb

Stacey Rothgeb, P.E., C.E.M., B.S., Senior Engineer

stacey.rothgeb@nrel.gov

Research Focus:

DOE Building America Program research coordination; performance testing and analysis for both new and existing homes

Specializes in:

Project management; whole-house diagnostics testing

Back to Top

Photo of Bethany Sparn

Bethany Sparn, M.S., Engineer

bethany.sparn@nrel.gov

Research Focus:

Residential HVAC equipment evaluation; heat pump water heater evaluation; non-intrusive load monitoring evaluation; automated home energy management device evaluation

Specializes in:

Laboratory testing of residential systems; field testing of whole-house performance; automated home energy management

Back to Top

Paulo Cesar Tabares-Velasco

Paulo Cesar Tabares-Velasco, Ph.D., Postdoctoral Researcher

paulo.tabares@nrel.gov

Research Focus:

Validation of phase-change material (PCM) model in EnergyPlus; design optimization of PCM in residential buildings; verification of solid conduction heat-transfer models in energy simulation programs

Specializes in:

Heat and mass transfer models for building energy simulation programs; heat transfer experiments; green roofs; building energy analysis; computational fluid dynamics; indoor air quality

Back to Top

Jeff Tomerlin

Jeff Tomerlin, Senior Research Technician

jeff.tomerlin@nrel.gov

Research Focus:

Residential HVAC research experiments

Specializes in:

Experiment design and fabrication; data acquisition; electronic, mechanical, hydraulic, and pneumatic systems troubleshooting

Back to Top

Eric Wilson

Eric Wilson, M.S., Engineer

eric.wilson@nrel.gov

Research Focus:

BEopt development; Building America house simulation protocols; water heating

Specializes in:

Whole building energy simulation and energy auditing

Back to Top

Jon Winkler

Jon Winkler, Ph.D., Senior Engineer

jon.winkler@nrel.gov

Research Focus:

Residential HVAC systems; residential dehumidification control; energy modeling tools; BEopt development

Specializes in:

Advanced energy modeling tools; laboratory test and analysis of residential HVAC systems; dehumidification and moisture control of advanced residential buildings; steady state and transient simulation of vapor compression systems

Back to Top

Jason Woods

Jason Woods, Ph.D., Engineer

jason.woods@nrel.gov

Research Focus:

Develop liquid-desiccant air conditioning systems and membrane-based HVAC devices

Specializes in:

Heat and mass transfer; numerical modeling; laboratory experiments

Back to Top

Support Staff

Jason Woods

Marcia Fratello, Administrative Associate

marcia.fratello@nrel.gov

Specializes in:

Administrative support for the Residential Buildings Group

Back to Top

Kristy Usnick

Kristy Usnick, Administrative Associate

kristy.usnick@nrel.gov

Specializes in:

Administrative support for research management of DOE Building America Program; SharePoint site administrator

Back to Top