Skip navigation to main content.
NREL - National Renewable Energy Laboratory
About NRELEnergy AnalysisScience and TechnologyTechnology TransferTechnology DeploymentEnergy Systems Integration

Research Staff

Find NREL biomass research and support staff.

Management Team

The biomass management team is composed of:

  • Thomas Foust, National Bioenergy Center Director
  • Adam Bratis, Biomass Laboratory Program Manager
  • Helena Chum, Biomass Fellow
  • Phil Pienkos, Bioprocess R&D Principal Group Manager
  • Kim Magrini, Catalysis and Thermochemical Sciences Principal Group Manager
  • Ed Wolfrum, Process & Analytical Engineering Principal Group Manager
  • Jim McMillan, Chief Engineer
  • Mark Davis, Thermochemical Conversion Platform Lead
  • Rick Elander, Biochemical Conversion Platform Lead

Working with Us

For questions about partnerships and business development, contact:

Learn more about working with us.

All Staff

Use the sortable table below to find NREL biomass staff. You may sort the staff names and research areas in alphabetical order or reverse order. For biosciences research staff, see the Biosciences Research website.

Name

Research Area

Email

Foust, Thomas

Management, National Bioenergy Center Director

Thomas.Foust@nrel.gov

Bratis, Adam

Management, Biomass Laboratory Program Manager

Adam.Bratis@nrel.gov

Chum, Helena

Management, Biomass Fellow

Helena.Chum@nrel.gov

Pienkos, Phil

Bioprocess R&D, Principal Group Manager

Philip.Pienkos@nrel.gov

Magrini, Kim

Catalysis and Thermochemical Sciences, Principal Group Manager

Kim.Magrini@nrel.gov

Wolfrum, Ed

Process & Analytical Engineering, Principal Group Manager

Ed.Wolfrum@nrel.gov

McMillan, Jim

Management, Chief Engineer

Jim.Mcmillan@nrel.gov

Davis, Mark

Thermochemical Conversion, Platform Lead

Mark.Davis@nrel.gov

Elander, Rick

Biochemical Conversion, Platform Lead

Richard.Elander@nrel.gov

Dowe, Nancy

Bioprocess Development, Research Supervisor

Nancy.Dowe@nrel.gov

Knoshaug, Eric

Bioprocess Development

Eric.Knoshaug@nrel.gov

Jennings, Ed

Bioprocess Development

Ed.Jennings@nrel.gov

Lowell, Andrew

Bioprocess Development

Andrew.Lowell@nrel.gov

Mohagheghi, Ali

Bioprocess Development

Ali.Mohagheghi@nrel.gov

Nelson, Robert

Bioprocess Development

Robert.Nelson@nrel.gov

Smith, Holly

Bioprocess Development

Holly.Smith@nrel.gov

Spiller, Ryan

Bioprocess Development

Ryan.Spiller@nrel.gov

Sweeney, Nicholas

Bioprocess Development

Nicholas.Sweeney@nrel.gov

Trinh, Thieny

Bioprocess Development

Thieny.Trinh@nrel.gov

Resch, Michael

Bioprocess Research, Research Supervisor

Michael.Resch@nrel.gov

Buell, Julie

Bioprocess Research

Julie.Buell@nrel.gov

Chase, Hunter

Bioprocess Research

Hunter.Chase@nrel.gov

Chou, Yat-Chen

Bioprocess Research

Yat.Chen.Chou@nrel.gov

Franden, Mary Ann

Bioprocess Research

Mary.Ann.Franden@nrel.gov

Laurens, Lieve

Bioprocess Research

Lieve.Laurens@nrel.gov

Linger, Jeff

Bioprocess Research

Jeffrey.Linger@nrel.gov

Yang, Shihui

Bioprocess Research

Shihui.Yang@nrel.gov

Zhang, Min

Bioprocess Research

Min.Zhang@nrel.gov

Dong, Tao

Bioprocess Research

Tao.Dong@nrel.gov

Ridler, Chandler

Bioprocess Research

Chandler.Ridler@nrel.gov

Sebag, Robert

Bioprocess Research

Robert.Sebag@nrel.gov

Spinelli, Paris

Bioprocess Research

Paris.Spinelli@nrel.gov

Vadelius, Eric

Bioprocess Research

Eric.Vadelius@nrel.gov

Beckham, Gregg

Biochemical Process Research

Gregg.Beckham@nrel.gov

Guarnieri, Michael

Biochemical Process Research

Michael.Guarnieri@nrel.gov

Kim, Seonah

Biochemical Process Research

Seonah.Kim@nrel.gov

Berstis, Laura

Biochemical Process Research

Laura.Berstis@nrel.gov

Fei, Qiang (John)

Biochemical Process Research

Qiang.Fei@nrel.gov

Ferguson, Glen

Biochemical Process Research

Glen.Ferguson@nrel.gov

Henard, Calvin

Biochemical Process Research

Calvin.Henard@nrel.gov

Johnson, Chris

Biochemical Process Research

Christopher.Johnson@nrel.gov

Karp, Eric

Biochemical Process Research

Eric.Karp@nrel.gov

Knott, Brandon

Biochemical Process Research

Brandon.Knott@nrel.gov

Kruger, Jacob

Biochemical Process Research

Jacob.Kruger@nrel.gov

Salvachua, Davinia

Biochemical Process Research

Davinia.Salvachua@nrel.gov

Cleveland, Nicholas

Biochemical Process Research

Nicholas.Cleveland@nrel.gov

Vardon, Derek

Biochemical Process Research

Derek.Vardon@nrel.gov

Nimlos, Mark

Biomass Molecular Sciences, Research Supervisor

Mark.Nimlos@nrel.gov

Black, Stuart

Biomass Molecular Sciences

Stuart.Black@nrel.gov

Bu, Lintao

Biomass Molecular Sciences

Lintao.Bu@nrel.gov

Iisa, Kristina

Biomass Molecular Sciences

Kristiina.Iisa@nrel.gov

Jarvis, Mark

Biomass Molecular Sciences

Mark.Jarvis@nrel.gov

Katahira, Rui

Biomass Molecular Sciences

Rui.Katahira@nrel.gov

McKinney, Kellene

Biomass Molecular Sciences

Kellene.McKinney@nrel.gov

Moens, Luc

Biomass Molecular Sciences

Luc.Moens@nrel.gov

Mukarakate, Calvin

Biomass Molecular Sciences

Calvin.Mukarakate@nrel.gov

Myers, Michele

Biomass Molecular Sciences

Michele.Myers@nrel.gov

Robichaud, David

Biomass Molecular Sciences

David.Robichaud@nrel.gov

Ben, Haoxi

Biomass Molecular Sciences

Haoxi.Ben@nrel.gov

Clark, Jared

Biomass Molecular Sciences

Jared.Clark@nrel.gov

Ziegler, Jack

Biomass Molecular Sciences

Jack.Ziegler@nrel.gov

Budhi, Sridar

Biomass Molecular Sciences

Sridhar.Budhi@nrel.gov

Ormond, Tom

Biomass Molecular Sciences

Thomas.Ormond@nrel.gov

Palmiotti, Elizabeth

Biomass Molecular Sciences

Elizabeth.Palmiotti@nrel.gov

Thompson, Logan

Biomass Molecular Sciences

Logan.Thompson@nrel.gov

Hensley, Jesse

Thermochemical Catalysis R&D, Research Supervisor

Jesse.Hensley@nrel.gov

Cheah, Singfoong

Thermochemical Catalysis R&D

Singfoong.Cheah@nrel.gov

Ferrell, Jack

Thermochemical Catalysis R&D

Jack.Ferrell@nrel.gov

French, Rick

Thermochemical Catalysis R&D

Richard.French@nrel.gov

Habas, Susan

Thermochemical Catalysis R&D

Susan.Habas@nrel.gov

Jablonski, Whitney

Thermochemical Catalysis R&D

Whitney.Jablonski@nrel.gov

Nash, Connor

Thermochemical Catalysis R&D

Connor.Nash@nrel.gov

Olstad, Jessica

Thermochemical Catalysis R&D

Jessica.Olstad@nrel.gov

Powell, Glenn

Thermochemical Catalysis R&D

Glenn.Powell@nrel.gov

Schaidle, Joshua

Thermochemical Catalysis R&D

Joshua.Schaidle@nrel.gov

Sykes, Robert

Thermochemical Catalysis R&D

Robert.Sykes@nrel.gov

Thibodeaux, Jason

Thermochemical Catalysis R&D

Jason.Thibodeaux@nrel.gov

White, Erick

Thermochemical Catalysis R&D

Erick.White@nrel.gov

Yung, Matt

Thermochemical Catalysis R&D

Matthew.Yung@nrel.gov

Griffin, Michael

Thermochemical Catalysis R&D

Michael.Griffin@nrel.gov

Pan, Ming

Thermochemical Catalysis R&D

Ming.Pan@nrel.gov

Gjersing, Erica

Thermochemical Process Analysis, Research Supervisor

Erica.Gjersing@nrel.gov

Carpenter, Danny

Thermochemical Process Analysis

Daniel.Carpenter@nrel.gov

Deutch, Steve

Thermochemical Process Analysis

Steve.Deutch@nrel.gov

Doeppke, Crissa

Thermochemical Process Analysis

Crissa.Doeppke@nrel.gov

Happs, Renee

Thermochemical Process Analysis

Renee.Happs@nrel.gov

Mazza, Kimmie

Thermochemical Process Analysis

Kimberly.Mazza@nrel.gov

Palmer, Scott

Thermochemical Process Analysis

Scott.Palmer@nrel.gov

Pilath, Heidi

Thermochemical Process Analysis

Heidi.Pilath@nrel.gov

Roy, Michaela

Thermochemical Process Analysis

Michaela.Roy@nrel.gov

Sprague, Mike

Thermochemical Process Analysis

Michael.Sprague@nrel.gov

Starace, Anne

Thermochemical Process Analysis

Anne.Starace@nrel.gov

Von Nieda, Evelyn

Thermochemical Process Analysis

Evelyn.VonNieda@nrel.gov

Ware, Liz

Thermochemical Process Analysis

Anne.Ware@nrel.gov

Crocker, David

Biomass Analysis

David.Crocker@nrel.gov

Hyman, Deb

Biomass Analysis

Deborah.Hyman@nrel.gov

Michener, Bill

Biomass Analysis

William.Michener@nrel.gov

Payne, Courtney

Biomass Analysis

Courtney.Payne@nrel.gov

Sluiter, Justin

Biomass Analysis

Justin.Sluiter@nrel.gov

Templeton, David

Biomass Analysis

David.Templeton@nrel.gov

Van Wychen, Stefanie

Biomass Analysis

Stefanie.VanWychen@nrel.gov

Vuong, Tran

Biomass Analysis

Vuong.Tran@nrel.gov

Black, Brenna

Biomass Analysis

Brenna.Black@nrel.gov

Sluiter, Amie

Biomass Analysis, Research Supervisor

Amie.Sluiter@nrel.gov

Henry, Jeanette

Biomass Analysis

Jeanette.Henry@nrel.gov

Maletich, Stefanie

Biomass Analysis

Stefanie.Maletich@nrel.gov

Ness, Ryan

Biomass Analysis

Ryan.Ness@nrel.gov

Peterson, Darren

Biomass Analysis

Darren.Peterson@nrel.gov

Potter, Kailee

Biomass Analysis

Kailee.Potter@nrel.gov

Ramirez, Kelsey

Biomass Analysis

Kelsey.Ramirez@nrel.gov

Reed, Michelle

Biomass Analysis

Michelle.Reed@nrel.gov

Wolfe, Jeff

Biomass Analysis

Jeffrey.Wolfe@nrel.gov

Brecevic, Charlene

Biomass Analysis

Charlene.Brecevic@nrel.gov

Dutta, Abhijit

Biorefinery Analysis, Research Supervisor

Abhijit.Dutta@nrel.gov

Biddy, Mary

Biorefinery Analysis

Mary.Biddy@nrel.gov

Davis, Ryan

Biorefinery Analysis

Ryan.Davis@nrel.gov

Kinchin, Chris

Biorefinery Analysis

Christopher.Kinchin@nrel.gov

Markham, Jennifer

Biorefinery Analysis

Jennifer.Markham@nrel.gov

Scarlata, Chris

Biorefinery Analysis

Christopher.Scarlata@nrel.gov

Tan, Eric

Biorefinery Analysis

Eric.Tan@nrel.gov

Tao, Ling

Biorefinery Analysis

Ling.Tao@nrel.gov

Zhang, Yanan

Biorefinery Analysis

Yanan.Zhang@nrel.gov

Sahir, Asad

Biorefinery Analysis

Asad.Sahir@nrel.gov

Batan, Liaw

Biorefinery Analysis

Liaw.Batan@nrel.gov

Schell, Dan

Bioprocess Integration R&D, Research Supervisor

Dan.Schell@nrel.gov

Antunes, Chris

Bioprocess Integration R&D

Christopher.Antunes@nrel.gov

Bray, William

Bioprocess Integration R&D

William.Bray@nrel.gov

Gunther, Casey

Bioprocess Integration R&D

Casey.Gunther@nrel.gov

Hjelm, Wes

Bioprocess Integration R&D

Wesley.Hjelm@nrel.gov

Kuhn, Erik

Bioprocess Integration R&D

Erik.Kuhn@nrel.gov

Lyons, Bob

Bioprocess Integration R&D

Robert.Lyons@nrel.gov

O'Brien, Mary-Kate

Bioprocess Integration R&D

Marykate.OBrien@nrel.gov

Shekiro, Joe

Bioprocess Integration R&D

Joseph.Shekiro@nrel.gov

Sievers, Dave

Bioprocess Integration R&D

David.Sievers@nrel.gov

Chen, Xiaowen

Bioprocess Integration R&D

Xiaowen.Chen@nrel.gov

Lischeske, James

Bioprocess Integration R&D

James.Lischeske@nrel.gov

Nagle, Nick

Bioprocess Integration R&D

Nick.Nagle@nrel.gov

Stickel, Jonathan

Bioprocess Integration R&D

Jonathan.Stickel@nrel.gov

Tucker, Melvin

Bioprocess Integration R&D

Melvin.Tucker@nrel.gov

Crawford, Nathan

Bioprocess Integration R&D

Nathan.Crawford@nrel.gov

Bray, Jared

Bioprocess Integration R&D

Jared.Bray@nrel.gov

Fowler, Matthew

Bioprocess Integration R&D

Matthew.Fowler@nrel.gov

Gheorghe, Phillip

Bioprocess Integration R&D

Philip.Gheorghe@nrel.gov

Nelson, Eric

Bioprocess Integration R&D

Eric.Nelson@nrel.gov

Wilcox, Esther

Thermochemical Process R&D, Research Supervisor

Esther.Wilcox@nrel.gov

Gaston, Katie

Thermochemical Process R&D

Katherine.Gaston@nrel.gov

Golubieski, Chris

Thermochemical Process R&D

Christopher.Golubieski@nrel.gov

Hansen, Ray

Thermochemical Process R&D

Raymond.Hansen@nrel.gov

Oddo, Marc

Thermochemical Process R&D

Marc.Oddo@nrel.gov

Pomeroy, Marc

Thermochemical Process R&D

Marc.Pomeroy@nrel.gov

Smith, Kristin

Thermochemical Process R&D

Kristin.Smith@nrel.gov

Stunkel, Jim

Thermochemical Process R&D

Jim.Stunkel@nrel.gov

Gerk, Cindy

Research Support, Project Lead

Cindy.Gerk@nrel.gov

Baldwin, Tami

Research Support

Tameron.Baldwin@nrel.gov

Beck, Morgan

Research Support

Morgan.Beck@nrel.gov

Christen, Billie

Research Support

Billie.Christen@nrel.gov

Grady-McBride, Sheila

Research Support

Sheila.Grady-McBride@nrel.gov

Pohle, Leslee

Research Support

Leslee.Pohle@nrel.gov

Spurrier, Ann

Research Support

Ann.Spurrier@nrel.gov

Bolin, Rich

Partnerships & Business Development

Richard.Bolin@nrel.gov

Baldwin, Bob

Partnerships & Business Development

Robert.Baldwin@nrel.gov